New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Last Of The Angels

(2007)
A novel by

 

From a legendary writer both beloved and banished by Iraq -- a fine work of Arabic literature in the vein of Naguib Mahfouz and Elias Khoury, and a magical and moving comic novel about the birth of modern Iraq.


Kirkuk, Iraq, the 1950s. The day Hameed Nylon loses his job, and gains an unfortunate nickname, is the day that his life begins: dismissed as a chauffeur when rumors surface that he propositioned his British boss's posh-tart wife, Hameed finds his true calling as a revolutionary in an Iraq that is destined for a sea change. Also bent on bucking the system is Hameed's brother-in-law, the money-scheming butcher Khidir Musa, who runs off suddenly to Russia to find two brothers who have been missing since World War I. And the key to their fate is held by a seven-year-old boy, Burhan Abdallah, who stumbles upon an old chest in his attic that allows him to speak with three white-robed old men, beings who inform him that they are, in fact, angels.

    Get it on Google Play
 
Similar Books by other authors...

 
Used availability for Fadhil al-Azzawi's The Last Of The Angels


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

March 2007 : Hardback
thumbTitle: The Last Of The Angels: A Modern Arabic Novel (Modern Arabic Literature (Hardcover))
Author(s): Fadhil al Azzawi
ISBN: 9774160592 / 978-9774160592
Publisher: The American University in Cairo Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

April 2014 : Paperback
thumbTitle: Last of the Angels the
Author(s): Fadhil al-Azzawi, Translated by William M Hutchins
ISBN: 9774166493 / 978-9774166495
Publisher: The American University in Cairo Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2008 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Last of the Angels: A Modern Iraqi Novel
Author(s): Fadhil al-Azzawi
ISBN: 1-4165-6745-3 / 978-1-4165-6745-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Free Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

July 2008 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Last of the Angels: A Modern Iraqi Novel
Author(s): Fadhil al-Azzawi
Publisher: Free Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

April 2007 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Last of the Angels: A Modern Arabic Novel (Modern Arabic Literature (Hardcover))
Author(s): Fadhil al-Azzawi
Publisher: The American University in Cairo Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for