New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Last Of The Angels

The Last Of The Angels

(2007)
A novel by

 
 

From a legendary writer both beloved and banished by Iraq -- a fine work of Arabic literature in the vein of Naguib Mahfouz and Elias Khoury, and a magical and moving comic novel about the birth of modern Iraq.


Kirkuk, Iraq, the 1950s. The day Hameed Nylon loses his job, and gains an unfortunate nickname, is the day that his life begins: dismissed as a chauffeur when rumors surface that he propositioned his British boss's posh-tart wife, Hameed finds his true calling as a revolutionary in an Iraq that is destined for a sea change. Also bent on bucking the system is Hameed's brother-in-law, the money-scheming butcher Khidir Musa, who runs off suddenly to Russia to find two brothers who have been missing since World War I. And the key to their fate is held by a seven-year-old boy, Burhan Abdallah, who stumbles upon an old chest in his attic that allows him to speak with three white-robed old men, beings who inform him that they are, in fact, angels.

    Get it on Google Play

Used availability for Fadhil al-Azzawi's The Last Of The Angels

Hardback Editions

March 2007 : Hardback
thumb

Title: The Last Of The Angels: A Modern Arabic Novel (Modern Arabic Literature (Hardcover))
Author(s): Fadhil al Azzawi
ISBN: 9774160592 / 978-9774160592
Publisher: The American University in Cairo Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2014 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Last of the Angels the
Author(s): Fadhil al-Azzawi, Translated by William M Hutchins
ISBN: 9774166493 / 978-9774166495
Publisher: The American University in Cairo Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2008 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last of the Angels: A Modern Iraqi Novel
Author(s): Fadhil al-Azzawi
ISBN: 1-4165-6745-3 / 978-1-4165-6745-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Free Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2008 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last of the Angels: A Modern Iraqi Novel
Author(s): Fadhil al-Azzawi
Publisher: Free Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2007 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last of the Angels: A Modern Arabic Novel (Modern Arabic Literature (Hardcover))
Author(s): Fadhil al-Azzawi
Publisher: The American University in Cairo Press
Availability: Amazon UK