New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Hugo Winners, 1980-1982

The Hugo Winners, 1980-1982

An anthology of stories edited by

Publisher's Weekly
This anthology contains a number of fine storiesvirtually a given with a volume of Hugo winners. Included are the honored tales from 1980, '81 and '82, among them twoeach by Gordon R. Dickson and George R. R. Martin, and one each by Barry Longyear, Clifford D. Simak, Poul Anderson, Roger Zelazny and John Varley, all (with the exception of Longyear) Hugo winners in previous years as well. Particularly fine are Varley's little shocker ''The Pusher,'' which considers the dilemma of the astronaut, who ages slowy during space travel, in creating a long-term relationship with an Earth-bound lover; Longyear's ''Enemy Mine'' (recently made into a film), which casts an Earthman and an alien into a hostile environment and traces their relationship from antagonism through mutual dependence, friendship and love; and Martin's spectacularly effective horror story about a sadistic man whose otherworldly insect-like pets escape from their tank and turn his home into a charnel house.


Similar books by other authors

Nebula Award Stories 11
(Nebula Award Stories, book 11)
Ursula K Le Guin
Nebula Winners 15
(Nebula Award Stories)
Frank Herbert
New Hugo Winners
(New Hugo Winners, book 1)
Martin H Greenberg

Used availability for Isaac Asimov's The Hugo Winners, 1980-1982

Hardback Editions

April 1986 : USA Hardback

Title: The Hugo Winners, Volume 5: Nine Prizewinning Science Fiction Stories (1980 - 1982)
Author(s): Isaac Asimov, Barry B Longyear, George R R Martin
ISBN: 0-385-18946-X / 978-0-385-18946-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA