New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Whore

Whore

(2004)
A novel by

 
 
A brief, breathless (heavily autobiographical) novelistic account of the life of a young woman who sells her body for a living, Whore is a searing look at the world's oldest profession and a confessional in the tradition of Sylvia Plath or John Berryman. "Cynthia," as the nameless narrator calls herself professionally, is a French-Canadian Catholic from the sticks who escapes her strict upbringing and stifling parents to move to Montreal as soon as she is old enough. One day she answers the ad of an escort agency, and quickly becomes compelled by her strange new calling. Visited by men including an Orthodox Jew cheating on his piety, a boorish Muslim with a deformed arm, a neverending parade of businessmen and fathers, and a young man whose youth and fitness disturbs her more than any of the rest of them, "Cynthia" delivers an unyielding, poetic, and deeply personal account of her whore's life.

    

Used availability for Nelly Arcan's Whore

Hardback Editions

January 2005 : USA Hardback

Title: Whore
Author(s): Nelly Arcan
ISBN: 1-4177-2318-1 / 978-1-4177-2318-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: San Val
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

November 2004 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Whore
Author(s): Nelly Arcan
ISBN: 0-8021-7002-1 / 978-0-8021-7002-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grove Press, Black Cat
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA