book cover of Four Hundred and Forty Steps to The Sea
Added by 2 of our members
 

Four Hundred and Forty Steps to The Sea

(2018)
(The Secret Legacy)
A novel by

 
 
In a richly romantic novel set in stunning Positano, Italy, Sara Alexander weaves a story of love, family loyalty, and sacrifice spanning five decades . . .
 
Nestled into the cliffs in southern Italy’s Amalfi coast, Positano is an artist’s vision, with rows of brightly hued houses perched above the sea and picturesque staircases meandering up and down the hillside. Santina, still a striking woman despite old age and the illness that saps her last strength, is spending her final days at her home, Villa San Vito. The magnificent eighteenth-century palazzo is very different from the tiny house in which she grew up. And as she decides its fate, she must confront the choices that led her here so long ago . . .
 
In 1949, Positano is as yet undiscovered by tourists, a beautiful, secluded village shaking off the dust of war. Hoping to escape poverty, young Santina takes domestic work in London, ultimately becoming a housekeeper to a distinguished British major and his creative, impulsive wife, Adeline. When they move to Positano, Santina returns with them, raising their daughter as Adeline’s mental health declines. With each passing year, Santina becomes more deeply enmeshed within the family, trying to navigate her complicated feelings for a man who is much more than an employer—while hiding secrets that could shatter the only home she knows . . .
 
Praise for Sara Alexander’s Under a Sardinian Sky
 
“Alexander paints a loving and breathtaking picture of the Mediterranean island, especially glorious descriptions of food. For readers who enjoy women’s fiction set against a background of momentous events and clashing cultures.” —Library Journal
 
“Will leave readers riveted until the explosive conclusion.”
—Publishers Weekly

Genre: Historical

Used availability for Sara Alexander's Four Hundred and Forty Steps to The Sea

Hardback Editions

February 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Four Hundred and Forty Steps to the Sea (Thorndike Press Large Print Clean Reads)
Author(s): Sara Alexander
ISBN: 1-4328-5485-2 / 978-1-4328-5485-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Secret Legacy: The perfect summer read for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Dinah Jeffries
Author(s): Sara Alexander
ISBN: 0-00-826319-1 / 978-0-00-826319-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Four Hundred and Forty Steps to the Sea
Author(s): Sara Alexander
ISBN: 1-4967-1548-9 / 978-1-4967-1548-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kensington
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Four Hundred and Forty Steps to the Sea: A Novel
Author(s): Sara Alexander
ISBN: 1-982517-84-0 / 978-1-982517-84-7
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Four Hundred and Forty Steps to the Sea: Library Edition
Author(s): Sara Alexander
ISBN: 1-982517-83-2 / 978-1-982517-83-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Four Hundred and Forty Steps to the Sea: A Novel
Author(s): Sara Alexander
ISBN: 1-982517-85-9 / 978-1-982517-85-4
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Four Hundred and Forty Steps to the Sea
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


August 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Four Hundred and Forty Steps to the Sea
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Legacy
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


August 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Legacy
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Legacy
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Four Hundred and Forty Steps to the Sea
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: Kensington Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


August 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Secret Legacy: The perfect summer read for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Dinah Jeffries
Author(s): Sara Alexander
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU