New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Mourner


(The third book in the Confederated Star Systems series)
A novel by

William Gladstone once pointed out that a culture reveals itself in how it cares for its dead.
MOURNER, the third book in the Harmony series, vividly explores how three very different cultures treat their dead when the body of Laud Gregor, Harmony's High Priest, goes missing between First Contact Cafe Space Station and the Harmony homeworld. Laud Gregor cannot be regarded as legally dead until he is officially buried - which means that Laudae Sissy, Harmony's High Priestess, cannot institute the reforms her culture desperately needs until a new High Priest is named.
Suspects abound, from the repulsive Dragons, who show up to claim the space station as lost property, to the secretive avian Maril, to disaffected power brokers closer to home. It doesn't help that Jake Devlin, commander of the station, finds himself haunted by the impatient Laud while he navigates all these new threats and trying to solve the mystery - and to figure out how he and Sissy can possibly surmount the cultural differences that obstruct their growing love.
Add in Jake's former boss, the evasive spymaster Pammy, and tension escalates, especially when the body seems to keep moving.
Can Harmony find peace? Will there ever be a happy ending for Sissy and Jake?


Used availability for C F Bentley's Mourner

Paperback Editions

May 2017 : USA Paperback

Title: Mourner: Confederated Star Systems #3 (Volume 3)
Author(s): Irene Radford, C F Bentlay
ISBN: 1-61138-679-9 / 978-1-61138-679-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Book View Cafe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

December 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Mourner: Confederated Star Systems #3
Author(s): Irene Radford, C F Bentley
Publisher: Bookview Cafe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA