New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Seaside Spectres

(A book in the North Carolina's Haunted Hundred series)
A novel by

From the mountains to the sea, North Carolina's 100 counties have a wealth of creepy stories to tell. These three volumes present a ghostly tale from each county. Though folklore fans may recognize a few new twists on old favorites, the great majority of the stories have not previously been told in print. Seaside Spectres offers tales from 33 counties in eastern North Carolina. "Betty" tells about a Lenoir County orphan who consoles himself over the loss of his parents by imagining that people in heaven are given white horses to ride to visit loved ones-a fantasy that proves more real than he could have imagined. "The Fraternity of Death" tells of a society of sacrilegious freethinkers in New Hanover County who begin to die mysteriously after they stage a mocking imitation of the Last Supper; it is a true-life tale that may have inspired a Robert Louis Stevenson story.

Used availability for Daniel W Barefoot's Seaside Spectres

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

June 2002 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Seaside Spectres (North Carolina's Haunted Hundred)
Author(s): Daniel W Barefoot
ISBN: 0-89587-257-9 / 978-0-89587-257-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: John F. Blair Publisher
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

March 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Seaside Spectres:North Carolina's Haunted Hundred, Volume 1
Author(s): Daniel W Barefoot
Publisher: John F. Blair, Publisher
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for