book cover of The Orphan of Salt Winds
Added by 1 of our members

The Orphan of Salt Winds

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Eowyn Ivey, Rose Tremaine, and Kate Atkinson, The Orphan of Salt Winds is a bewitching debut about the secrets that haunt us.

England, 1939. Ten-year-old Virginia Wrathmell arrives at Salt Winds, a secluded house on the edge of a marsh, to meet her adoptive parents—practical, dependable Clem and glamorous, mercurial Lorna. The marsh, with its deceptive tides, is a beautiful but threatening place. Virginia’s new parents’ marriage is full of secrets and tensions she doesn’t quite understand, and their wealthy neighbor, Max Deering, drops by too often, taking an unwholesome interest in the family’s affairs. Only Clem offers a true sense of home. War feels far away among the birds and shifting sands—until the day a German fighter plane crashes into the marsh, and Clem ventures out to rescue the airman. What happens next sets into motion a crime so devastating it will haunt Virginia for the rest of her life. Seventy-five years later, she finds herself drawn back to the marsh, and to a teenage girl who appears there, nearly frozen and burdened by her own secrets. In her, Virginia might have a chance at retribution and a way to right a grave mistake she made as a child.  

Elizabeth Brooks’s gripping debut mirrors its marshy landscape—full of twists and turns and moored in a tangle of family secrets. A gothic, psychological mystery and atmospheric coming-of-age story, The Orphan of Salt Winds is the portrait of a woman haunted by the place she calls home.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Filled with unexpected twists, beautifully rendered characters, and told with great style, The Orphan of Salt Winds will seep into your soul." - Keith Donohue

"The Orphan of Salt Winds is an atmospheric, beautifully paced novel about sacrifice, the urge to belong, and revenge. It’s full of well-drawn characters I loved to hate, and those that I didn’t want to let go, even after I closed the last page." - Claire Fuller

"A beautifully written, atmospheric novel-reminiscent of Jane Eyre with its wild, bleak and houseful of mysteries. Bewitching and haunting." - Eowyn Ivey

"Like Daphne du Maurier, this novel powerfully conjures up a place, a time and a story that are unforgettable." - Rosamund Lupton


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Elizabeth Brooks's The Orphan of Salt Winds

Hardback Editions

March 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Orphan of Salt Winds (Thorndike Press Large Print Reviewers' Choice)
Author(s): Elizabeth Brooks
ISBN: 1-4328-6285-5 / 978-1-4328-6285-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Orphan of Salt Winds
Author(s): Elizabeth Brooks
ISBN: 1-947793-22-5 / 978-1-947793-22-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tin House Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Orphan of Salt Winds
Author(s): Elizabeth Brooks
ISBN: 1-72133-294-4 / 978-1-72133-294-6
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Orphan of Salt Winds
Author(s): Elizabeth Brooks
ISBN: 1-72133-293-6 / 978-1-72133-293-9
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan of Salt Winds
Author(s): Elizabeth Brooks
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

February 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Orphan of Salt Winds
Author(s): Elizabeth Brooks
Publisher: Tin House Books
Availability: Amazon