book cover of Her Dark Retreat

Her Dark Retreat

(2017)
(The Retreat)
A novel by

 
 
"superbly suspenseful and highly addictive."

The coastguard's residence Chamber Cottage, which sits high up on the North Yorkshire cliffs, overlooking the North Sea, holds many dark secrets.

Alec and Peggy are struggling to overcome their marital problems. Both damaged by issues from their childhoods, they are trying to get on with their lives. But this is hard for them to do when they both believe they are being watched. As a result, Peggy, who has terrible scars on her face, becomes more agoraphobic.

To make matters worse, Peggy discovers her estranged mother is stalking both she and Alec, claiming she has a dark secret that is putting Peggy in danger.

What caused the scars on Peggy's face? Is Alec really the monster Peggy's mother believes him to be? And what secrets does Chamber Cottage hold?

J.A. Baker is the author of the best-selling Undercurrent and The Woman at Number 19. The Retreat is a gripping and twisty psychological thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like SE Lynes and K.L. Slater.


Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Veiled Secrets
(Whispering Pines Mystery, book 6)
Shawn McGuire

Used availability for J A Baker's Her Dark Retreat

Paperback Editions

October 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Her Dark Retreat
Author(s): J A Baker
ISBN: 1-912175-65-7 / 978-1-912175-65-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Retreat
Author(s): J A Baker
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Availability: Amazon CA