New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of African Monsters

African Monsters

An anthology of stories edited by

Here be Monsters! They lurk and crawl and fly in the shadows of our mind. We know them from ancient legends and tales whispered by the campfire. They hide under the dark bridge, in the deep woods or out on the great plains, in the drizzling rain forest or out on the foggy moor, beneath the surface, under your bed. They don't sparkle or have any interest in us except to tear us apart. They are the monsters! Forgotten, unknown, misunderstood, overused, watered down. We adore them still. We want to give them a renaissance, to reestablish their dark reputation, to give them a comeback, let the world know of their real terror. "African Monsters is a fantastic anthology featuring many African writers at the forefront of the new wave of Speculative Fiction tapping directly into the deep and rich mythology of African cultures." - Ivor W. Hartmann, editor for African Roar and AfroSF volume 1 & 2 Contents: Nnedi Okorafor: On the Road Joan de la Haye: Impundulu Tade Thompson: One Hundred and Twenty Days of Sunlight Jayne Bauling: Severed Su Opperman: The Death of One T.L. Huchu: Chikwambo Dilman Dila: Monwor S. Lotz: That Woman Toby Bennett: Sacrament of Tears Chikodili Emelumadu: Bush Baby Joe Vaz: After The Rain Dave-Brendon de Burgh: Taraab and Terror in Zanzibar Nerine Dorman: A Whisper in the Reeds Vianne Venter: Acid Test Nick Wood: Thandiwe's Tokoloshe James Bennett (writer) and Dave Johnson (artist): A Divided Sun Illustrations from Su Opperman, Kieran Walsh, Vincent Holland-Keen, Eugene Smith and Benali Amine.


Similar books by other authors

The Fifth Season
(Broken Earth, book 1)
N K Jemisin
(Binti, book 1)
Nnedi Okorafor

Used availability for James Bennett's African Monsters

Paperback Editions

December 2015 : UK Paperback

Title: African Monsters: Volume 2 (Fox Spirit Books of Monsters)
Author(s): Nnedi Okorafor, James Bennett, Joan De La Haye, Dave De Burgh, Tade Thompson, Joe Vaz, Nerine Dorman, Jayne Bauling, Su Opperman, T L Huchu, Dilman Dila, S Lotz, Toby Bennett, Chikodili Emelumadu, Vianne Venter, Nic
ISBN: 1-909348-84-8 / 978-1-909348-84-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Fox Spirit Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA