book cover of Are You Sleeping
Added by 5 of our members

Are You Sleeping

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
'I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough . . . a terrific debut' – Jenny Blackhurst, author of Before I Let You In.

The only thing more dangerous than a lie . . . is the truth.

When a family man is killed at point blank range in his home, it shakes a sleepy town to its core. The murder is a strange, horrifying crime but for the authorities it’s an open-and-shut case.

Ten years on, the victim’s daughter, Josie, has started afresh in New York – far from the tragic events that blew her family apart. No-one knows the truth about her previous life, not even her fiancé.

Investigative journalist Poppy is convinced the wrong man is in jail for the murder and she’s determined to prove it. What starts off as a true-crime podcast snowballs into a national phenomenon and everyone has an opinion on the case. Poppy’s relentless pursuit of the truth threatens to expose old secrets. Josie realizes that her father’s murder could have consequences more devastating than she had ever imagined.

Are You Sleeping is a gripping debut psychological thriller from Kathleen Barber for fans of Serial, Disclaimer and Luckiest Girl Alive. Oscar winner Octavia Spencer will be starring in the TV adaptation, produced by Reese Witherspoon.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"If you like twisty psychological thrillers, this is your book." - J T Ellison

"Beautifully and sympathetically written, ARE YOU SLEEPING? is a murder whodunit, a social commentary, and an exploration of sisterly bonds all in one." - Kate Moretti

"Are You Sleeping will more than likely keep you up all night as this most compelling suspenseful novel unfolds. A classic whodunnit gets a very clever modern treatment that left this reader's heart racing right up to the last page." - Liz Nugent


Similar books by other authors

thumb
My Little Eye
(Starke & Bell, book 1)
Stephanie Marland

Used availability for Kathleen Barber's Are You Sleeping

Hardback Editions

November 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Are You Sleeping (Thorndike Press Large Print Peer Picks)
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-4328-5952-8 / 978-1-4328-5952-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Are You Sleeping
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-5098-4302-7 / 978-1-5098-4302-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Are You Sleeping: A Novel
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-5011-5766-3 / 978-1-5011-5766-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Are You Sleeping: A Novel
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-5011-5768-X / 978-1-5011-5768-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Are You Sleeping
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-5098-4300-0 / 978-1-5098-4300-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Are You Sleeping
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-5098-4298-5 / 978-1-5098-4298-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2017 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Are You Sleeping
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
ISBN: 1-5098-6983-2 / 978-1-5098-6983-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Truth Be Told: A Novel
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Truth Be Told: A Novel
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2017 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Truth be Told
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Truth Be Told: A Novel
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Are You Sleeping: An Endlessly Twisting Debut Psychological Thriller
Author(s): Kathleen Barber
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon UK