New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Summer of Discontent

A Novella by

How should a proper young lady spend her summer months in Regency England?

By getting into plenty of mischief by masquerading as a servant girl, of course.

Cassandra, or Cassie to her friends, sticks out like a redheaded weed amidst her family of tidy blooms. At Bramfield Park, Cassie's prim parents and attractive older sister, Sophia, wish for nothing but an advantageous marriage for their eldest and prettiest - and for Cassie to stay out of the way.

But when the surprisingly charming Lord Peter Courtney pays Bramfield a visit to take in Cassie's father's renowned collection of art - and, if the Earl of Wychhaven has anything to say about it, to add his daughter Sophia to Courtney's own collection - fate throws Cassie and the Lord together under most extraordinary circumstances. What began with a simple ruse to aid a friend grows more complex as Cassie's feelings for Lord Peter grow stronger, and soon she finds herself in over her head.

From the beloved author of the Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth series, M.C. Beaton's Regency Romance novella, The Summer of Discontent, delivers an enchanting summertime tale of mistaken identities, unlikely friendships, and unexpected love.

About the Author

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She is a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and has worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor. The author has written under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also has written under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward. The author lived in the United States, but now splits her time between the Cotswolds, England and Paris, France.

Used availability for M C Beaton's The Summer of Discontent

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Audio Editions

November 2015 : USA Audio edition
Title: Summer of Discontent
Author(s): M C Beaton
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   

November 2015 : UK Audio edition
Title: Summer of Discontent
Author(s): M C Beaton
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

April 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: Summer of Discontent (Kindle Single)
Author(s): M C Beaton
Publisher: RosettaBooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

September 2015 : UK Kindle edition
Title: The Summer of Discontent
Author(s): M C Beaton
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   

Search for