New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Dumbocracy

Dumbocracy

(2008)
A non fiction book by

 
In every election year, we hear much about the all-powerful "bases" of each major party. Who are these activists? What drives them? And why are they all equally dangerous to our lives, liberties, and pursuits of happiness? In Dumbocracy, journalist Marty Beckerman spends four years with foot soldiers of the Left and Right - pro-choice and anti-choice, pro-gay rights and anti-gay rights, pro-war and anti-war - and delivers a searing, hilarious indictment of the True Believer mentality.

Whether it's banning free speech to protect people's feelings or banning adult entertainment to enforce morality, extremists have no use for our civil liberties. The ends justify the means for each side - such as brainwashing children and criminalizing dissent - because culture warriors have no other reason for living than victory. However, Beckerman is unafraid to expose their tactics - and their never-ending hypocrisies - with comical, over-the-top glee worthy of South Park or The Daily Show.

No extremist will escape unscathed, but moderate readers of all stripes will fall in love with Beckerman's iconoclasm. In the tradition of P.J. O'Rourke's Parliament of Whores and Michael Moore's Stupid White Men, Beckerman's grand political satire will have readers laughing on the floor and ripping the hair from their scalps.

 
Used availability for Marty Beckerman's Dumbocracy


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

September 2008 : USA Paperback
Title: Dumbocracy: Adventures with the Loony Left, the Rabid Right, and Other American Idiots
Author(s): Marty Beckerman
ISBN: 1-934708-06-2 / 978-1-934708-06-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Disinformation Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

September 2008 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Dumbocracy: Adventures with the Loony Left, the Rabid Right, and Other American Idiots
Author(s): Marty Beckerman
Publisher: Disinformation Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for