New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

A Certain Summer

(2013)
A novel by

 
A richly evocative debut novel set in an exclusive summer colony along the east coast during the aftermath of World War II - for fans of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford.

"Nothing ever changes at Wauregan." That mystique is the tradition of the idyllic island colony off the shore of Long Island, the comforting tradition that its summer dwellers have lived by for over half a century. But in the summer of 1948, after a world war has claimed countless men - even those who came home - the time has come to deal with history's indelible scars.

Helen Wadsworth's husband, Arthur, was declared missing in action during an OSS operation in France, but the official explanation was mysteriously nebulous. Now raising a teenage son who longs to know the truth about his father, Helen turns to Frank Hartman - her husband's best friend and his partner on the mission when he disappeared. Frank, however, seems more intent on filling the void in Helen's life that Arthur's absence has left. As Helen's affection for Frank grows, so does her guilt, especially when Peter Gavin, a handsome Marine who was brutally tortured by the Japanese and has returned with a faithful war dog, unexpectedly stirs new desires. With her heart pulled in multiple directions, Helen doesn't know whom to trust - especially when a shocking discovery forever alters her perception of both love and war.

Part mystery, part love story, and part insider's view of a very private world, A Certain Summer resonates in the heart long after the last page is turned.

 
Used availability for Patricia Beard's A Certain Summer


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

May 2013 : USA Paperback
Title: A Certain Summer
Author(s): Patricia Beard
ISBN: 1-4767-1026-0 / 978-1-4767-1026-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

May 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: A Certain Summer
Author(s): Patricia Beard
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

May 2013 : UK Kindle edition
Title: A Certain Summer
Author(s): Patricia Beard
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon UK   



Search for