New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>
book cover of 

Degrees of Love

Degrees of Love

(1998)
A novel by

 
In the tradition of The Good Mother and The Deep End of the Ocean, a beautifully written first novel about a family's worst nightmare. Jack Keliher and Lily Sterne lead ordinary lives. But when their eighteen-month-old daughter, Katie, is accidentally burned while home alone with Lily and rushed to the hospital, their ordered world begins to unravel. An emergency room physician's report brings the state to take temporary custody of Katie, setting in motion a bureaucratic ordeal in which Lily and Jack are faced with every parent's worst fear: that their child will be taken away from them. Lily fears that her history of mental instability and postpartum depression will be used against her; Jack, in turn, blames Lily. Rachel Basch's quietly compelling narrative alternates between the voices of Jack and Lily as they reveal their increasingly divergent responses to the accident and its consequences. Their fierce struggle to keep their baby safe begins to take its toll on their relationship and their lives, and they are forced to grapple with the emotional and spiritual differences that slowly drive them apart. This exquisite novel's power reaches far beyond the story of an accident and its effect on a family. In depicting the anguish of a family in crisis, Basch has written a stunning work about the nature of privacy, the relationship of work and self, and the fragility--and ultimately, the importance--of love.

 
Used availability for Rachel Basch's Degrees of Love


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

April 1999 : USA Turtleback
Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
ISBN: 0-606-16722-6 / 978-0-606-16722-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Demco Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

April 1998 : USA Hardback
Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
ISBN: 0-393-04625-7 / 978-0-393-04625-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

February 1999 : USA Mass Market Paperback
Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
ISBN: 0-06-101404-4 / 978-0-06-101404-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTorch
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 1980 : USA Paperback
Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
ISBN: 0-393-33232-2 / 978-0-393-33232-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

April 1998 : Canada Kindle edition
Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon CA   



Search for