New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Degrees of Love

Degrees of Love

(1998)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of The Good Mother and The Deep End of the Ocean, a beautifully written first novel about a family's worst nightmare. Jack Keliher and Lily Sterne lead ordinary lives. But when their eighteen-month-old daughter, Katie, is accidentally burned while home alone with Lily and rushed to the hospital, their ordered world begins to unravel. An emergency room physician's report brings the state to take temporary custody of Katie, setting in motion a bureaucratic ordeal in which Lily and Jack are faced with every parent's worst fear: that their child will be taken away from them. Lily fears that her history of mental instability and postpartum depression will be used against her; Jack, in turn, blames Lily. Rachel Basch's quietly compelling narrative alternates between the voices of Jack and Lily as they reveal their increasingly divergent responses to the accident and its consequences. Their fierce struggle to keep their baby safe begins to take its toll on their relationship and their lives, and they are forced to grapple with the emotional and spiritual differences that slowly drive them apart. This exquisite novel's power reaches far beyond the story of an accident and its effect on a family. In depicting the anguish of a family in crisis, Basch has written a stunning work about the nature of privacy, the relationship of work and self, and the fragility--and ultimately, the importance--of love.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Rachel Basch's Degrees of Love

Hardback Editions

April 1999 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
ISBN: 0-606-16722-6 / 978-0-606-16722-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Demco Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 1998 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
ISBN: 0-393-04625-7 / 978-0-393-04625-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

February 1999 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
ISBN: 0-06-101404-4 / 978-0-06-101404-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTorch
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 1980 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
ISBN: 0-393-33232-2 / 978-0-393-33232-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 1998 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Degrees of Love
Author(s): Rachel Basch
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon CA