New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
book cover of 

The Hermit Thrush Sings

The Hermit Thrush Sings

(2001)
A novel by

 
In the tradition of Lois Lowry's The Giver, Susan Butler's futuristic first novel tells the triumphant story of Leora's refusal to conform to the rigid rules set forth by a tyrannical government. Leora has a gift, and a secret. She can see things no one else can, but can only draw them with her one webbed hand. Several generations have passed since North America was struck by a meteor that changed life forever. Now, Leora lives safely locked inside the walls of Village Three. Only the guards and croptenders are allowed out, where the world is said to be undeveloped and dangerous. Leora's heard stories of the ferocious birmbas - half bear, half gorilla - that resulted from the meteor. Mutants cannot be trusted. But Leora herself is considered a "defective" with her hidden hand and gift. When she risks her life to free a baby birmba, she finds the courage to escape beyond the tyrannical walls without knowing what she may find.

 
Used availability for Susan Butler's The Hermit Thrush Sings


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

October 2001 : USA Library Binding
Title: Hermit Thrush Sings
Author(s): Susan Butler
ISBN: 0-613-33908-8 / 978-0-613-33908-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Rebound by Sagebrush
Availability: Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

July 2001 : USA Mass Market Paperback
Title: The Hermit Thrush Sings (Laurel-Leaf Books)
Author(s): Susan Butler
ISBN: 0-440-22896-4 / 978-0-440-22896-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House USA Children's Books
Availability: Amazon UK   



Search for