book cover of The Life of Graham Greene: 1939-1955

The Life of Graham Greene: 1939-1955

A non fiction book by

The years from 1939-1955 proved to be the most prolific of Graham Greene's life. This volume presents a portrait of the author at the height of both his spying and literary careers. Greene produced some of his best novels during this time - "The Heart of the Matter", "The End of the Affair", "The Quiet American" - and saw the filming of "The Fallen Idol" and "The Third Man". The same period encompasses his passionate affair with the beautiful American, Catherine Walston, who was married to a British peer, the disintegration of his marriage to Vivien and his long relationship with Dorothy Glover, his activities as a secret agent, and his forays into the conflicts in Kenya, Malaya, and French Indo-China.

Used availability for Norman Sherry's The Life of Graham Greene: 1939-1955

Paperback Editions

September 2004 : UK Paperback

Title: The Life of Graham Greene: Volume II: 1939-1955
Author(s): Norman Sherry
ISBN: 0-14-200421-9 / 978-0-14-200421-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon