book cover of Blood and Stone
Added by 16 of our members

Blood and Stone

(2013)
(Buried Lies)
(The sixth book in the D.I. Tom Mariner series)
A novel by

 
 
Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

"Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character." Yorkshire Post

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD AND STONE.”

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner goes to the beautiful Welsh countryside to recover. But he finds himself caught up in a murder investigation . . . and he’s the prime suspect.

Grieving the death of his former lover, all Mariner wants is some peace and quiet. But his walking holiday is ruined by the discovery of a body in the woods.

The remote stone farmhouses of this beautiful valley hide many buried secrets.

As more bodies are discovered, can Mariner clear his name and avoid becoming the next victim?

Discover an absorbing crime mystery with an action-packed conclusion.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the sixth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

What readers are saying about BURIED LIES
“Really great read. ” Nerys

“A clever plot with plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader guessing.” Barbara

“What a great book.” Lesley

Compelling and highly readable.” Paromjit

“Another exciting and suspenseful adventure.” Linda Strong

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD AND STONE.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: DEADLY LIES
Book 2: INNOCENT LIES
Book 3: KILLER LIES
Book 4: BABY LIES
Book 5: MARRIED LIES
Book 6: BURIED LIES
Book 7: MISSING LIES

THE FIRST THREE MARINER MYSTERIES ARE AVAILABLE IN A GREAT VALUE BOX SET: "DETECTIVE TOM MARINER BOOKS 1-3"

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Chris Collett's Blood and Stone

Hardback Editions

June 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Blood and Stone: 6 (A Tom Mariner Mystery)
Author(s): Chris Collett
ISBN: 0-7278-7251-6 / 978-0-7278-7251-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2013 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Blood and Stone: 6 (A Tom Mariner Mystery)
Author(s): Chris Collett
ISBN: 1-78029-052-7 / 978-1-78029-052-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Creme de la Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: BURIED LIES a gripping detective mystery full of twists and turns (Detective Mariner Mystery)
Author(s): CHRIS COLLETT
ISBN: 1-78931-034-2 / 978-1-78931-034-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Joffe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: BURIED LIES a gripping detective mystery full of twists and turns (Detective Mariner Mystery Book 6)
Author(s): CHRIS COLLETT
Publisher: Joffe Books crime, thrillers, and mysteries
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU