book cover of Dead of Night
Added by 12 of our members

Dead of Night

(2014)
(Missing Lies)
(The seventh book in the D.I. Tom Mariner series)
A novel by

 
 
Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this mystery with a huge twist at the end.

"Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character." Yorkshire Post

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “DEAD OF NIGHT.”

18-year-old Grace Clifton vanishes on her way home from work. Amazingly, not a single witness comes forward. But Detective Tom Mariner suspects that she ran away from her overbearing, rich father.

A PACKAGE ARRIVES AT THE POLICE STATION. IT CONTAINS GRACE’S CLOTHES, NEATLY FOLDED AND CLEANED.

Then another woman disappears. And a disturbing pattern begins to emerge.

WHO IS TAKING THEM?

Detective Mariner must track down a suspected serial killer in his toughest, and strangest, case yet, with a conclusion that will have you gasping.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the seventh book in the DI MARINER SERIES.

What people are saying about MISSING LIES

"Definitely one of the best British crime novels I have read, with a great plot that twist and turns." Terje

"A brilliantly well thought out mystery with plenty of red herrings." Jacqueline

"A strong pace and multidimensional characters keep this British procedural moving briskly" (Library Journal)

“Cleverly plotted, with an unexpected shock ending, plenty of suspense, and a likably genuine cast of characters, this is a strong new entry in an increasingly popular police-procedural series.” (Booklist)

“I couldn’t put it down.” Barbara

"Procedural fans are in for a really good time.” (Publishers Weekly)

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “DEAD OF NIGHT.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: DEADLY LIES
Book 2: INNOCENT LIES
Book 3: KILLER LIES
Book 4: BABY LIES
Book 5: MARRIED LIES
Book 6: BURIED LIES
Book 7: MISSING LIES

THE FIRST THREE MARINER MYSTERIES ARE AVAILABLE IN A GREAT VALUE BOX SET: "DETECTIVE TOM MARINER BOOKS 1-3"

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Chris Collett's Dead of Night

Hardback Editions

March 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Dead of Night: A Tom Mariner Police Procedural Set in Birmingham: 7 (A Tom Mariner Mystery)
Author(s): Chris Collett
ISBN: 0-7278-9411-0 / 978-0-7278-9411-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Dead of Night: A Tom Mariner Police Procedural Set in Birmingham (A Tom Mariner Mystery): 7
Author(s): Chris Collett
ISBN: 0-7278-8434-4 / 978-0-7278-8434-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: MISSING LIES a gripping detective mystery full of twists and turns
Author(s): CHRIS COLLETT
ISBN: 1-78931-049-0 / 978-1-78931-049-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Joffe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Dead of Night: A Tom Mariner Police Procedural Set in Birmingham: 7 (A Tom Mariner Mystery)
Author(s): Chris Collett
ISBN: 1-84751-540-1 / 978-1-84751-540-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: MISSING LIES a gripping detective mystery full of twists and turns (Detective Mariner Mystery Book 7)
Author(s): CHRIS COLLETT
Publisher: Joffe Books crime, thrillers, and mysteries
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU