book cover of A Good Death
Added by 13 of our members

A Good Death

(2016)
(Darkest Lies)
(The eighth book in the D.I. Tom Mariner series)
A novel by

 
 
Discover a page-turning crime mystery from a No. 1 bestselling author.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.” Yorkshire Post

Originally published as A Good Death.

One missing bridegroom. Two burned bodies.
A twisted motive that will shock you to the core.

When a frail old man dies in a house fire, Detective Tom Mariner races to the scene. The victim, Soltan Ahmed, was Mariner’s neighbour.

Who set the fire that took his life?

The race is on to uncover the truth, and that’s not Mariner’s only headache right now. He must also search for a bridegroom who vanished just weeks before his wedding.

A case of cold feet? Or something more sinister?

Then comes a find that changes everything.
The charred body of a Jane Doe.
Hidden in a back room of the house where Ahmed lived.

Who was she and how did she get there?

A totally gripping crime thriller perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons, Rachel McLean, Caro Ramsay, Helen H. Durrant, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT DARKEST LIES:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “It would be impossible not to like Mariner!” Margaret, NetGalley

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Fully fledged female characters distinguish Collett’s eighth police procedural.” Publishers Weekly

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Well written, thoughtful, and entertaining.” Booklist

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I didn’t want to put it down!” Anne

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I do like a good police procedural and this definitely fits the bill.” Elaine

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: DEADLY LIES
Book 2: INNOCENT LIES
Book 3: KILLER LIES
Book 4: BABY LIES
Book 5: MARRIED LIES
Book 6: BURIED LIES
Book 7: MISSING LIES
Book 8: DARKEST LIES


Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Chris Collett's A Good Death

Hardback Editions

November 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Good Death: 8 (A Tom Mariner Mystery)
Author(s): Chris Collett
ISBN: 0-7278-9308-4 / 978-0-7278-9308-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Good Death (A Tom Mariner Mystery): 8
Author(s): Chris Collett
ISBN: 0-7278-8687-8 / 978-0-7278-8687-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: DARKEST LIES a gripping detective mystery full of twists and turns
Author(s): CHRIS COLLETT
ISBN: 1-78931-986-2 / 978-1-78931-986-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Joffe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Good Death: 8 (A Tom Mariner Mystery)
Author(s): Chris Collett
ISBN: 1-84751-765-X / 978-1-84751-765-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Paperbacks Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

September 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: DARKEST LIES a gripping detective mystery full of twists and turns (Detective Mariner Mystery Book 8)
Author(s): CHRIS COLLETT
Publisher: Joffe Books crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU