New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Science Experiment

The Science Experiment

(The first book in the Suburban Nightmares series)
A novel by

Publisher's Weekly
Hancock and Cherkas were responsible for the excellent Silent Invasion series and this volume continues to display their interest, as well as that of freelance illustrator Van Bruggen, in 1950s Americana, specifically anti-communist hysteria, the atom bomb, flying saucers and suburbia. Notwithstanding the stark atomic-power-is-our-friend ironies of the ''The Science Experiment,'' the book consists of several crisply illustrated but lackluster Twilight Zone -like rehashes. The local science teacher in ''The Science Experiment'' asks too many questions about the effects of nuclear testing on the residents of the perfectly planned community of Green Valley, Nev. ''Buster Takes a Nap!'' lampoons the bomb shelter frenzy of the time, while ''Just Another Joe'' turns to ''commie'' witchhunts. In ''June 1953,'' a suburban dad stuns his neat little family with a scheme to abandon earth with alien visitors, and ''The Seven Thirty-three'' features another suburbanite who takes a later commuter train and somehow ends up with a different life, again and again.


Used availability for Michael Cherkas's The Science Experiment

Paperback Editions

March 1990 : USA Paperback

Title: Suburban Nightmares: The Science Experiment
Author(s): Larry Hancock, Michael Cherkas, John van Bruggen
ISBN: 0-918348-80-3 / 978-0-918348-80-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: NBM Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA