New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book
book cover of 

Heaven

Heaven

(2012)
A novel by

 
The new novel by the author of In the Deep Midwinter, Mr. White's Confession, and Love Among the Ruins.

1960, in a mid-sized city somewhere in the Midwest. Bud and Gloria Young are the newest homeowners in a freshly built suburban cul-de-sac, the only residents except for their neighbors Dean and Liz. The two couples have nothing yet everything--the pursuit of the American post-war dream, of children, home, and prosperity--in common: Bud is a diffident sales executive bitterly estranged from his small-town roots; Gloria (who "looks just like Grace Kelly"), cool and proper, wants nothing more than a child; Liz, is wry, worldly, and alcoholic; and then there is Dean, opaque, voracious, devious yet at times almost tender-hearted.

As their involvement deepens over cocktails, dinner parties, hunting trips, and yet more cocktails, their "greatest generation" shared world of prescribed commitments and roles is silently and steadily intruded upon by ambiguities--social, moral, but especially sexual--that change everyone and everything. All this passes unacknowledged until it is far too late, observed by no one except Dean and Liz's affectless son Chad ("the moon-eyed boy"), who is outwardly alive to nothing except the television but who sees and ultimately understands what his elders cannot, the future into which they all are unwittingly moving.

Both raw and lyrical, unsentimental but compassionate, Heaven is in the tradition of Updike and Cheever, but also of Michael Cunningham and Edmund White, a post-modern novel set in the heart of the modern era that uncannily and movingly describes the way we were but also the way we live now.

"Robert Clark . . . has an ear for dialogue that's pitch perfect and an impeccable eye for detail" - The New York Times Book Review

"...the subtlety of [Robert Clark's] artistry and the profundity of his vision." - The Wall Street Journal

"Clark uses fiction in its highest and best sense, to explore questions that haunt the human heart." - The Seattle Times

"Clark is a master of intimacy, and the moral complexities of life." - Pico Iyer

Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography

PNBA Award Winner

Edgar Award Best Novel Winner

Guggenheim Fellowship

IMPAC/Dublin Finalist

 
Used availability for Robert Clark's Heaven


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

April 2012 : USA Paperback
Title: Heaven: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Clark
ISBN: 1-4751-1222-X / 978-1-4751-1222-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   



Search for