book cover of The Girl in Between

The Girl in Between

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
Told in the naive voice of a homeless girl sheltered by her mother from the world, this is a moving debut perfect for fans of David Almond, A Monster Calls, and Room.

I'm invisible. Ma says I'm supposed to be so the Authorities don't get me. She goes out into the streets almost every day but I'm not allowed. I've got to stay inside the mill so they don't see me.

In an old, abandoned mill, a girl and her ma take shelter from their memories of life on the streets, and watch the busy world go by. The girl calls it the Castle because it's the biggest place they've ever stayed, a home of her own like no other. The windows are boarded up and the floorboards are falling in, but for her neither of those things matter.

Then developers show up, and it's clear that their lives are about to change forever. Desperate to save their refuge from the Authorities and her mother from her own personal demons, the girl seeks out the ghosts of the mill. And with only Caretaker - the old man who's slept outside the mill for decades - around to answer her questions, she begins to wonder what kind of ghosts are haunting both the mill and her mother.

The Girl in Between is a compelling, witty, and at times heartbreaking novel that explores themes of loneliness and grief with effortless warmth and an unforgettable voice that will stick with you long after you've finished.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"A deeply moving story of family, homelessness, and the ghosts that won't let us go. Haunting and unforgettable." - Megan Shepherd


Similar books by other authors

thumb
One of Us Is Lying
(Bayview High, book 1)
Karen M McManus

Used availability for Sarah Carroll's The Girl in Between

Hardback Editions

June 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Girl in Between
Author(s): Sarah Carroll
ISBN: 0-7352-2860-4 / 978-0-7352-2860-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Girl in Between
Author(s): Sarah Carroll
ISBN: 1-4711-6062-9 / 978-1-4711-6062-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Girl in Between
Author(s): Sarah Carroll
ISBN: 1-5436-1917-7 / 978-1-5436-1917-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Girl in Between
Author(s): Sarah Carroll
ISBN: 1-5436-1919-3 / 978-1-5436-1919-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Girl in Between, The
Author(s): Sarah Carroll
ISBN: 1-5436-1918-5 / 978-1-5436-1918-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl in Between
Author(s): Sarah Carroll
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl in Between
Author(s): Sarah Carroll
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Girl in Between
Author(s): Sarah Carroll
Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Girl in Between
Author(s): Sarah Carroll
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK
Availability: Amazon UK