New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Year of Broken Glass

A novel by

Joe Denham's debut novel The Year of Broken Glass follows struggling crab fisherman Francis "Ferris" Wichbaun's journey across the Pacific Ocean to deliver a legendary glass fishing float to an enigmatic, high-paying collector. Against a backdrop of worldwide seismic devastation, Ferris is forced to confront increasing concern for his two families-his wife Anna and their son Willow, and his girlfriend Jin Su and their baby daughter Emily-as well as pervasive feelings of disappointment and disillusionment. In the midst of his contemplation, he becomes entangled in both a romantic affair with his travelling companion and an ancient legend that seems to offer the possibility of redemption.

Denham's poetic background is evident in the novel's entrancing imagery and thematic complexity, yet in his transition to prose he has also succeeded in crafting a unique, unpredictable plot and intriguing, sincerely rendered characters. Haunted by environmental degradation and human suffering, Denham affixes the carefree Wedding Guest in all of us with his glittering prose and weaves a story that is both sobering and compelling.

Used availability for Joe Denham's The Year of Broken Glass

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

April 2011 : Canada Paperback
thumbTitle: The Year of Broken Glass
Author(s): Joe Denham
ISBN: 0-88971-252-2 / 978-0-88971-252-2 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Nightwood
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

June 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Year of Broken Glass
Author(s): Joe Denham
Publisher: Nightwood Editions
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for