New York Times bestselling author Maria Duenas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story "destined to become a classic" (Armando Lucas Correa, bestselling author of The German Girl) about ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in Mexico, Cuba, and Spain in the 1860s - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah.

Mauro Larrea's fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Drowning in debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money on daring ploy that wins him a neglected house and a vineyard in Spain, an ocean away. He journeys to Jerez de la Frontera in Andalusia with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexio - until Soledad Montalvo, the wife of a London wine merchant, bursts into his life, determined to regain the property which was her family's legacy. With his plans derailed, Larrea glimpses an opportunity in the flourishing sherry trade and finds himself increasingly drawn to the rich, intoxicating culture of his new surroundings. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he vows to restore the vineyard to its former glory, setting the stage for a future he never could have imagined.

Moving from the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing city of Havana, and onward to the fertile vineyards of Jerez as the wine trade with England is transforming the Andalusian city, Maria Duenas's new novel spans the New World and the Old. Her tale of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, the sophistication of the Mexican capital, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is an "evocative, tender, and lush" (Diana Gabaldon, #1 New York Times bestselling author) story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Duenas is a gifted writer. The Vineyard is destined to become a classic." - Armando Lucas Correa

"Evocative, tender, and lush; a wonderful experience of times and lives in turmoil." - Diana Gabaldon

"It beams readers with pinpoint accuracy to the heart and soul of 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain on a magic carpet ride that they will be sorry to have end." - Leila Meacham


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Labyrinth of the Spirits
(Cemetery of Forgotten Books, book 4)
Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Used availability for Maria Duenas's The Vineyard

Hardback Editions

October 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Vineyard (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic Series)
Author(s): Maria Duenas
ISBN: 1-4328-4402-4 / 978-1-4328-4402-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Vineyard: A Novel
Author(s): Maria Duenas
ISBN: 1-5011-2453-6 / 978-1-5011-2453-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Vineyard: A Novel
Author(s): Maria Duenas
ISBN: 1-5011-2454-4 / 978-1-5011-2454-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Vineyard: A Novel
Author(s): Maria Duenas
ISBN: 1-5011-8325-7 / 978-1-5011-8325-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Vineyard
Author(s): Maria Duenas
ISBN: 1-978607-62-8 / 978-1-978607-62-0
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Vineyard
Author(s): Maria Duenas
ISBN: 1-978607-63-6 / 978-1-978607-63-7
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Vineyard, The: A Novel
Author(s): Maria Duenas
ISBN: 1-5436-4062-1 / 978-1-5436-4062-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2017 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Vineyard
Author(s): Maria Duenas
ISBN: 1-5436-4063-X / 978-1-5436-4063-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Vineyard: A Novel
Author(s): Maria Duenas
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

October 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Vineyard: A Novel
Author(s): Maria Duenas
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA