New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
 
Hogarth's epoch-defining paintings and engravings, such as Gin Lane and The Rake's Progress, are renowned. He was London's painter par excellence, and supplies the most enduring vision of the eighteenth century's ebullience, enjoyments and social iniquities. From a childhood spent in a debtor's prison to his death in the arms of his wife, I, Hogarth follows the life of painter William Hogarth as he makes a name for himself and as he fights for artists with his Copyright Act. Through his lifelong marriage to Jane Thornhill, his inability to have children, his time as one of England's best portrait painters, his old age and unfortunate dip into politics, and ultimately his death, I, Hogarth is the artist's life through the artist's eyes. Recommended for fans of Peter Ackroyd and Hilary Mantel, this novel charts Hogarth's progress in four parts: i. The Finger of God 1697-1714; ii. From Gamble to Rich 1714-1732; iii. From the Harlot to the Devil 1732-1758; iv. Finis 1757-1764. Michael Dean blends Hogarth's life and his work into one rich narrative in such a way that Hogarth lives what he paints. Dean gives us William Hogarth's life story as he carefully blends the facts of Hogarth's life with fiction.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Michael Dean's I, Hogarth

Hardback Editions

January 2013 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth: A Novel
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 1-4683-0342-2 / 978-1-4683-0342-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2012 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 0-7156-4386-X / 978-0-7156-4386-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

June 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 0-7156-4751-2 / 978-0-7156-4751-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth: A Novel
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 1-4683-0822-X / 978-1-4683-0822-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2014 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth: A Novel
Author(s): Michael Dean
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2012 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth
Author(s): Michael Dean
Publisher: Duckworth Overlook
Availability: Amazon UK