New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
William Hogarth's epoch-defining paintings and engravings, such as "Gin Lane" and "The Rake's Progress," are renowned.

He was London's artist par excellence, and his work supplies the most enduring vision of the eighteenth century's ebullience, enjoyments, and social iniquities.

From a childhood spent in a debtor's prison to his death in the arms of his wife, I, Hogarth follows the artist's life as he makes a name for himself and as he fights for artists with his Copyright Act. Through Hogarth's lifelong marriage to Jane Thornhill, his inability to have children, his time as one of England's best portrait painters, his old age and unfortunate dip into politics, and his untimely death, I, Hogarth is the remarkable story told through the artist's eyes. Michael Dean blends Hogarth's life and work into a rich and satisfying narrative, recommended for fans of Hilary Mantel and Peter Ackroyd.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...



Hardback Editions

January 2013 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth: A Novel
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 1-4683-0342-2 / 978-1-4683-0342-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2012 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 0-7156-4386-X / 978-0-7156-4386-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

June 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 0-7156-4751-2 / 978-0-7156-4751-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth: A Novel
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 1-4683-0822-X / 978-1-4683-0822-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2014 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth: A Novel
Author(s): Michael Dean
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2012 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: I, Hogarth
Author(s): Michael Dean
Publisher: Duckworth Overlook
Availability: Amazon UK   



Search for