New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

I, Hogarth

(2012)
A novel by

 
William Hogarth's epoch-defining paintings and engravings, such as "Gin Lane" and "The Rake's Progress," are renowned.

He was London's artist par excellence, and his work supplies the most enduring vision of the eighteenth century's ebullience, enjoyments, and social iniquities.

From a childhood spent in a debtor's prison to his death in the arms of his wife, I, Hogarth follows the artist's life as he makes a name for himself and as he fights for artists with his Copyright Act. Through Hogarth's lifelong marriage to Jane Thornhill, his inability to have children, his time as one of England's best portrait painters, his old age and unfortunate dip into politics, and his untimely death, I, Hogarth is the remarkable story told through the artist's eyes. Michael Dean blends Hogarth's life and work into a rich and satisfying narrative, recommended for fans of Hilary Mantel and Peter Ackroyd.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding
Jackie Copleton

The House At the Edge of the World
Julia Rochester

Golden Hill
Francis Spufford

Madame Picasso
Anne Girard
 
Used availability for Michael Dean's I, Hogarth


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

January 2013 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: I, Hogarth: A Novel
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 1-4683-0342-2 / 978-1-4683-0342-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2012 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: I, Hogarth
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 0-7156-4386-X / 978-0-7156-4386-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

June 2014 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: I, Hogarth
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 0-7156-4751-2 / 978-0-7156-4751-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

February 2014 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: I, Hogarth: A Novel
Author(s): Michael Dean
ISBN: 1-4683-0822-X / 978-1-4683-0822-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

February 2014 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: I, Hogarth: A Novel
Author(s): Michael Dean
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

September 2012 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: I, Hogarth
Author(s): Michael Dean
Publisher: Duckworth Overlook
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for