New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Journey

(The second book in the Trilogy of Memory series)
A novel by

"Reading Pitol, one has the impression of being before the greatest writer in the Spanish language in our time." - Enrique Vila-Matas

The Journey features one of the world's master storytellers at work as he skillfully recounts two weeks of travel around the Soviet Union in 1986. From the first paragraph, Sergio Pitol dislocates the sense of reality, masterfully and playfully blurring the lines between fiction and fact.

This adventurous story, based on the author's own travel journals, parades through some of the territories that the author lived in and traveled through (Prague, the Caucasus, Moscow, Leningrad) as he reflects on the impact of Russia's sacred literary pantheon in his life and the power that literature holds over us all.

The Journey, the second work in Pitol's remarkable "Trilogy of Memory" (which Deep Vellum is publishing in its entirety), which won him the prestigious Cervantes Prize in 2005 and inspired the newest generation of Spanish-language writers, represents the perfect example of one of the world's greatest authors at the peak of his power.

Similar Books by other authors...

Multiple Choice
Alejandro Zambra

A Brief History of Portable Literature
Enrique Vila-Matas

Vampire in Love
Enrique Vila-Matas

Antonio Di Benedetto
Used availability for Alvaro Enrigue's The Journey

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

August 2015 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Journey
Author(s): Sergio Pitol
ISBN: 1-941920-18-7 / 978-1-941920-18-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Deep Vellum Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

July 2015 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Journey
Author(s): Sergio Pitol
Publisher: Deep Vellum Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for