New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Murder Squad

Murder Squad

An anthology of stories edited by

A collection showcasing the short story talents of the collective known as the Murder Squad - featuring several award-winning and highly acclaimed crime writers

The Murder Squad all share a special passion for crime, which is reflected in this superb new volume of previously unpublished tales. Funny and sad, atmospheric and dark, ingenious and frightening, each of the 13 stories in this collection - two or three from each contributor - will thrill lovers of crime fiction. In "The Habit of Silence, DI Vera Stanhope - whom Ann Cleeves developed "Because I was so cross with even feminist writers writing female central characters who were young, fit and beautiful. Vera isn't any of those things. She's overweight and middle-aged." - investigates the case of the body in the library. In Martin Edwards' "The People Outside," a tight-knit community is ripped apart by violence, and a lust for vengeance. Cath Staincliffe's "Boom!" is the explosive story of murder in Manchester. Margaret Murphy tells of a Liverpool lad troubled by a mortal sin, in "The Message." The title story is by Stuart Pawson, and asks Why would a writer want to plot revenge? In Cleeves' second offering, "Basic Skills," Maddy thought that books could change lives - but so can murder. Staincliffe's "Laptop" features a laptop thief who takes more than she bargained for. "Act of Contrition," by Murphy, asks if Janice is pleading for forgiveness - or seeking something more sinister? When a rich man's butler vanishes, in Edwards' "The Case of the Musical Butler," Sherlock Holmes is asked to investigate. Cleeves' "Mud" tells of a woman remembering the past, betrayal, and a death. "Riviera" by Staincliffe explores the question When you look in a mirror, who do you see? Pawson tell of a Christmas in prison - but goodwill is in short supply, in "Sprouts." At the end of a book, an index tells a tale of murder, in Edwards' "InDex."


Similar books by other authors

Telling Tales
(Vera Stanhope, book 2)
Ann Cleeves
Sleep No More
Peter Kemp - foreword and P D James
The Seagull
(Vera Stanhope, book 8)
Ann Cleeves

Used availability for Martin Edwards's Murder Squad

Paperback Editions

September 2011 : UK Paperback

Title: Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories: A Murder Squad Anthology
Author(s): Margaret Murphy, Murder Squad
ISBN: 0-7524-6300-4 / 978-0-7524-6300-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: The History Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2002 : UK Paperback

Title: Murder Squad
Author(s): Martin Edwards
ISBN: 1-873226-51-9 / 978-1-873226-51-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Flambard Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

September 2011 : UK Kindle edition

Title: Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories
Author(s): Murder Squad
Publisher: The History Press
Availability: Amazon UK