book cover of The Queen\'s Constables

The Queen's Constables

(2019)
(The third book in the Constable Thomas Lincraft Mystery series)
A Novella by

 
 
Constable Thomas Lincraft Mystery Series: Book 3

"A well-researched and well-written series... Lincraft is humane yet tenacious." Richard Foreman

1574.

Catholic priests are being smuggled into England as part of a plan that threatens the rule of Queen Elizabeth.

The Queen's spymaster, Francis Walsingham, turns to Senior Constable, Thomas Lincraft, to uncover the plot and identify the conspirators.

Summoned to the capital, Lincraft revisits the streets of London, and ventures into its criminal underworld, ably assisted by his friend and fellow Constable - Giles Bradbury.

Assuming various false identities, and narrowly escaping the enemy's clutches, the Queen's Constables pick up the trail of the smugglers.

For Lincraft, his duties open old wounds as he finds himself reacquainted with a figure from his past, and confronting harrowing memories from his youth. It is finally a chance to settle an old score and see justice served.

The smuggled priests are pursued to their ultimate destination but will it be the constables, rather than their quarry, who must face the executioner's noose?

Recommended for fans of Rory Clements, CJ Sansom and SJ Parris.

This is the third book in a trilogy featuring the unconventional approach to his duties of Tudor Constable Thomas Lincraft.

Author David Field is a retired criminal lawyer. His background experience has also led to the creation of contemporary crime investigator DCI Mike Saxby, in a series of novels also published by Sharpe Books.

Praise for David Field

'An entertaining and lively mystery, which delves into the murky world of crime and the justice system in provincial Elizabethan England.' Paul Walker, author of State of Treason

'Gritty and unsettling ... A promising start to a new crime series.' Thomas Waugh

'Field continues to deliver the goods... Another gripping story full of depth and character.' Shaun Baines, author of Woodcutter

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A well-researched and well-written series...Lincraft is human yet tenacious." - Richard Foreman


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for David Field's The Queen's Constables

Kindle Editions

July 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Queen's Constables (Constable Thomas Lincraft Mystery Series Book 3)
Author(s): David Field
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU