book cover of Without Fear or Favour
Added by 4 members

Without Fear or Favour

(The second book in the Constable Thomas Lincraft Mystery series)
A Novella by

Constable Thomas Lincraft Mystery Series: Book 2

"A well-researched and well-written series... Lincraft is humane yet tenacious." Richard Foreman

Nottingham, 1571

Senior Constable Tom Lincraft has been summoned to view the body of local miller Edward Franklin, found hanging from a beam in his own mill as the result of a seeming suicide. With him is his junior colleague Giles Bradbury, a ladies' man who is intrigued by Tom's policy of never accepting the assertions of others until he has investigated them for himself.

Tom has grounds for suspecting that this is no suicide, and when he and Giles make further enquiries regarding the furtive activities of a man recently arrived at a local inn, they are set upon by three men who become their main targets in their investigation.

Then just as they are about to make arrests, they receive a visit from a shadowy figure who claims to be acting on royal authority, and they are diverted from a simple murder enquiry into an intrigue with grave implications for the welfare of Queen Elizabeth and the nation.

This is the second in a trilogy of novels featuring the unconventional approach to his duties of Tudor Constable Thomas Lincraft.

Author David Field is a retired criminal lawyer. His background experience has also led to the creation of contemporary crime investigator DCI Mike Saxby, in a series of novels also published by Sharpe Books.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A well-reseached and well-written series...Lincraft is humane yet tenacious." - Richard Foreman

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for David Field's Without Fear or Favour

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors