New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Summertime Stomp

The Summertime Stomp

A novel by

Summer, 1978. College student Alan Lamaire, stuck in his small home town, Balsam Lake, NY in loco parentis for Jerry, his younger brother, lands an uninspiring job assisting a semi-retired private investigator, Louis (Lucky) Ames. Through several adventures under Lucky's ambiguous auspices, Alan experiences the constant tawdriness and occasional satisfaction of detective work.
Life turns sinister when a stranger assaults Alan and asks about an almost forgotten piano piece, "The Summertime Stomp". After a night of alcohol-fueled romantic confusion, Alan stumbles upon the stranger, murdered. Then police assign Alan a new, unwanted role, prime suspect.
Two more victims follow. Suspicious of everyone, hounded by police, fearing that the killer has pegged him as the fourth victim, Alan desperately applies his still unpolished detective skills. Armed only with his wits, Alan locks himself in conflict with some deadly opponents as his last chance to save himself (and the "Stomp") from oblivion.

Though he now lives in Boston, David W. Frank developed the arts and crafts that characterize his long-running career as a theater person (actor, director, producer), amateur musician, and English teacher in New York's North Country. His adaptations of Ibsen's The Pillars of Society and Henry Fielding's The Mock Doctor have been published on-line, and his adaptations of Aristophanes' The Clouds and Gozzi's The Love of Three Oranges have been performed, as has his revue, Musical! along with one fully original play, 4'33" in Rehearsal. He has one previously published Alan Lamaire novel, Monarch Man.


Used availability for David W Frank's The Summertime Stomp

Paperback Editions

2015 : USA Paperback

Title: The Summertime Stomp
ISBN: 1-61456-287-3 / 978-1-61456-287-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sarah Book Publishing
Availability: Amazon