book cover of The Widow Of Pale Harbour
Added by 12 of our members

The Widow Of Pale Harbour

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
A town gripped by fear. A woman accused of witchcraft. Who can save Pale Harbor from itself?

Maine, 1846. Gabriel Stone is desperate to escape the ghosts that haunt him in Massachusetts after his wife’s death, so he moves to Maine, taking a position as a minister in the remote village of Pale Harbor.

But not all is as it seems in the sleepy town. Strange, unsettling things have been happening, and the townspeople claim that only one person can be responsible: Sophronia Carver, a reclusive widow who lives with a spinster maid in the eerie Castle Carver. Sophronia must be a witch, and she almost certainly killed her husband.

As the incidents escalate, one thing becomes clear: they are the work of a twisted person inspired by the wildly popular stories of Mr. Edgar Allan Poe. And Gabriel must find answers, or Pale Harbor will suffer a fate worthy of Poe’s darkest tales.

Hester Fox comes to writing from a background in the museum field as a collections maintenance technician. This job has taken her from historic houses to fine art museums, where she has the privilege of cleaning and caring for collections that range from paintings by old masters to ancient artifacts to early-American furniture. She is a keen painter and has a master’s degree in historical archaeology, as well as a background in medieval studies and art history. Hester lives outside Boston with her husband.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Beautifully written, skillfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror... Perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Kate Morton." - Anna Lee Huber

"A perfect blend of gothic mystery, drama and romance." - Cressida McLaughlin


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Kin
(Helga Finnsdottir, book 1)
Snorri Kristjansson

Used availability for Hester Fox's The Widow Of Pale Harbour

Paperback Editions

October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Widow Of Pale Harbour
Author(s): Hester Fox
ISBN: 1-84845-749-9 / 978-1-84845-749-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbor
Author(s): Hester Fox
ISBN: 1-5258-3426-6 / 978-1-5258-3426-4 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Graydon House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbour
Author(s): Hester Fox
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   


September 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbour
Author(s): Hester Fox
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbor
Author(s): Hester Fox
ISBN: 1-09-400437-5 / 978-1-09-400437-2
Publisher: Harlequin Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbor Lib/E
Author(s): Hester Fox
ISBN: 1-09-400436-7 / 978-1-09-400436-5
Publisher: Graydon House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbor
Author(s): Hester Fox
ISBN: 1-09-400438-3 / 978-1-09-400438-9
Publisher: Harlequin Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbor
Author(s): Hester Fox
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbor
Author(s): Hester Fox
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbor
Author(s): Hester Fox
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbor
Author(s): Hester Fox
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbour
Author(s): Hester Fox
Publisher: HQ Fiction
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Widow of Pale Harbor
Author(s): Hester Fox
Publisher: Graydon House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2019 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Widow Of Pale Harbour: a thrilling gothic tale of intrigue, romance and murder perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies
Author(s): Hester Fox
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK