New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Darkness Rises

Darkness Rises

A novel by

When archaeology lecturer Jeffrey Flint is asked for information after one of his students, Lucy Gray, goes missing he struggles to find an answer.

Her sister comes looking for clues. Lucy didn't attend a family wedding. The girl has not been seen for five weeks.

Much like Flint, her classmates don't recall her presence, and if they do, it is as an outsider with strange interests in Paganism, witchcraft and the occult.

With the help of a local journalist, Vikki Corbett, and an enthusiastic student, Tyrone Drake, Flint begins to piece together the movements of Lucy.

When he suddenly receives a phone call from her, warning him off the hunt, it seems it is case closed.

Months later, the Pagan holiday of Beltane looms on the calendar, reminding Flint and Tyrone of the missing student.

They begin the search anew, gaining new ground...

Until, after providing them with vital information, Lucy's ex-boyfriend goes missing.

Flint must start digging.

Each step closer to Lucy, will take them further into an unknown world of Pagan ritual and dark magic.

How do you find a missing girl, who doesn't want to be found?

'Darkness Rises' is a compelling story of crime and terror from a master storyteller.

Praise for Jason Monaghan

'A fantastic, gripping read.' - Robert Foster, best-selling author of 'The Lunar Code'.

'Darkness Rises' was previously published as 'Shadow in the Corn'.

Jason Foss was the original pen name of Dr Jason Monaghan under which he began the Jeffrey Flint and Maddy Crowe series of archaeological thrillers. As an archaeologist Jason has published a number of textbooks on shipwrecks and Roman pottery, and his travels have inspired his fiction. His first four novels were 'Darkness Rises', 'Byron's Shadow', 'Shadesmoor' and 'Lady in the Lake'. Unlikely twists in his career saw him working as a merchant banker, anti-money laundering specialist and Museum Director. He is an active member of the Crime Writers Association and lives on the island of Guernsey.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.


Similar books by other authors

Holy Island
(DCI Ryan, book 1)
LJ Ross

Used availability for Jason Foss's Darkness Rises

Kindle Editions

June 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Darkness Rises (Jeffrey Flint Archaeological Mystery Book 1)
Author(s): Jason Monaghan
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA