New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of When The Dust Settles

When The Dust Settles

A novel by

When the young archaeologist Maddy Crowe is drafted in to work as costume advisor on a major feature film about the Roman emperor Septimius Severus, she soon finds herself in the backbiting company of Hollywood actors - and a long way from her normal, safe world of academia.

But things are about to get much worse.

The mood on the set quickly turn sour when an unknown writer arrives, claiming that the director stole his plot.

And twenty minutes after he disappears people lie on the floor, bleeding from near-fatal gunshot wounds.

The writer is now the police's prime suspect and a massive manhunt is underway.

But Maddy Crowe knows something is amiss.

Why weren't the high-profile director, production assistants, or actors targeted by the killer?

She can't believe that these two co-workers, a historian and a special effects coordinator, could have been the target of an assassination attempt. It's all too convenient, and nobody's asking the right questions.

In an attempt to clear the writer's name, Maddy pairs up with fellow archaeologist and film-adviser, Dr Jeffrey Flint to conduct her own private investigation.

Marauding through film sets from southern England to the Scottish Highlands, she must use her intuition to figure out who was behind the attack, and who the intended target might have been.

But Maddy is about to find out that some things are better left in the past...

'When the Dust Settles' is a thrilling crime thriller, which delves into the ancient past while surging through the technological present.

Praise for Jason Monaghan:

'...combines authentic scholarly detail with breakneck pacing to create a first-rate thriller.' - Publisher's Weekly

'A fantastic, gripping read.' - Robert Foster, best-selling author of 'The Lunar Code'.

Jason Foss was the original pen name of Dr Jason Monaghan, under which he began the Jeffrey Flint and Maddy Crowe series of archaeological thrillers. As an archaeologist Jason has published a number of textbooks on shipwrecks and Roman pottery, and his travels have inspired his fiction. His first four novels were 'Darkness Rises', 'Byron's Shadow', 'Shadesmoor' and 'Lady in the Lake'. Unlikely twists in his career saw him working as a merchant banker, anti-money laundering specialist and Museum Director. He is an active member of the Crime Writers Association and lives on the island of Guernsey.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.


Similar books by other authors

Captive on the Fens
(DI Nikki Galena & DS Joe Easter, book 6)
Joy Ellis
(Munro and West, book 4)
Pete Brassett

Used availability for Jason Foss's When The Dust Settles

Kindle Editions

March 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: When The Dust Settles (Jeffrey Flint Archaeological Mystery Book 5)
Author(s): Jason Monaghan
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA