book cover of Crossing the Lines

Crossing the Lines

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
2018 Winner of the Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Fiction

Sulari Gentill, author of the 1930s Rowland Sinclair Mysteries, jumps to the post-modern in Crossing the Lines.

A successful writer, Madeleine, creates a character, Edward, and begins to imagine his life. He, too, is an author. Edward is in love with a woman, Willow, who's married to a man Edward loathes, and who loathes him, but he and Willow stay close friends. She's an artist. As Madeleine develops the plot, Edward attends a gallery show where a scummy critic is flung down a flight of fire stairs...murdered. Madeleine, still stressed from her miscarriages and grieving her inability to have a child, grows more and more enamored of Edward, spending more and more time with him and the progress of the investigation and less with her physician husband, Hugh, who in turn may be developing secrets of his own.

As Madeline engages more with Edward, he begins to engage back. A crisis comes when Madeleine chooses the killer in Edward's story and Hugh begins to question her immersion in her novel. Yet Crossing the Lines is not about collecting clues and solving crimes. Rather it's about the process of creation, a gradual undermining of the authority of the author as the act of writing spirals away and merges with the story being told, a self-referring narrative crossing over boundaries leaving in question who to trust, and who and what is true.

For fans of Paul Auster, Jesse Kellerman, Vera Caspary's Laura, Martin Amis, Haruki Murakami, Marisha Pessl

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A tour de force! Crossing the Lines is a brilliant blend of mystery, gut-wrenching psychological suspense and literary storytelling. The novel stands as a shining (and refreshing) example of meta-fiction at its best--witty and wry, stylish and a joy to read." - Jeffery Deaver

"A delightful, cerebral novel featuring a crime writer who grows dangerously enamored with her main character. As the interplay between creator and created reaches Russian-nesting-doll complexity, it forces us to question the nature of fiction itself." - Gregg Hurwitz


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Dante Chamber
(Dante Club, book 2)
Matthew Pearl
thumb
Old Scores
(Barker and Llewelyn, book 9)
Will Thomas
thumb
The Dry
(Aaron Falk, book 1)
Jane Harper

Used availability for Sulari Gentill's Crossing the Lines

Hardback Editions

August 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Crossing the Lines
Author(s): Sulari Gentill
ISBN: 1-4642-0914-6 / 978-1-4642-0914-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Crossing the Lines
Author(s): Sulari Gentill
ISBN: 1-4642-0915-4 / 978-1-4642-0915-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Crossing the Lines
Author(s): Sulari Gentill
ISBN: 1-4642-0916-2 / 978-1-4642-0916-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2017 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Crossing the Lines
Author(s): Sulari Gentill
Publisher: Pantera Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Crossing the Lines
Author(s): Sulari Gentill
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA