book cover of The Forever War Series

The Forever War Series

(A book in the Forever War series)
An omnibus of novels by

The Hugo and Nebula Award winner that William Gibson called the "best science-fiction war novel ever written" and its sequel - plus a powerful story that links the two.

This collection brings together Joe Haldeman's widely acclaimed military science fiction classic, The Forever War; a novelette featuring hero William Mandella's life partner, Marygay Potter; and the epic concluding novel to the saga.

The Forever War: Conscripted into service for the United Nations Exploratory Force, Pvt. William Mandella fights for Earth light years away against an alien enemy. After surviving a harrowing two years of combat, Private Mandella and his fellow soldiers return home only to discover decades have passed due to the time dilation caused by space travel. Society has evolved into a civilization beyond the veterans' comprehension, offering them no place to go but back into the military and a never-ending cycle of interstellar conflict that occurs over months while Earth ages centuries.

"A Separate War": Marygay Potter, reassigned and separated from her lover, William Mandella, continues fighting in military engagements across the stars - all the while planning how she and Mandella can reunite despite the time and space between them.

Forever Free: Human beings have become a single hive-mind. Unwilling to sacrifice his individuality, William Mandella has joined other war veterans in exile on the half-frozen world known as Middle Finger, hoping to live in peace with Marygay and their children. But Humanity needs the genes of veterans to continue their evolution, forcing Mandella and his family to escape on an odyssey that will alter their lives forever.

Genre: Science Fiction

Similar books by other authors

Old Man's War
(Old Man's War, book 1)
John Scalzi
The Last Colony
(Old Man's War, book 3)
John Scalzi
The Ghost Brigades
(Old Man's War, book 2)
John Scalzi

Used availability for Joe W Haldeman's The Forever War Series

Kindle Editions

December 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition

Title: The Forever War Series: The Forever War, A Separate War, and Forever Free
Author(s): Joe Haldeman
Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA