book cover of Volume 2

Volume 2

(The second book in the Taste of Noir series)
A collection of stories by

A Taste of Noir includes four short stories from the collection Nice Girl Does Noir by award-winning crime fiction author Libby Fischer Hellmann. The stories in Taste, Volume 2 include:

"Your Sweet Man"
My contribution to CHICAGO BLUES (Bleak House, 2007) was way out of my comfort zone, but that's what I loved about writing short stories. They allow me to stretch and experiment with different characters, plots, eras, and settings. This story is about a Blues bass player whose ability to love and forgive is tested by events out of his control. There's also a historical element: the story takes place both in the 1980's and the 1950's. It turned out to be one of the sweetest stories I've ever written.

"The Jade Elephant"
The following story was published in the EXPLETIVE DELETED anthology (Bleak House, 2008) edited by Jen Jordan. I loved researching the seamier, sleazier parts of Chinatown where menus are stained, kitsch is king, and even walking down the street after dark is risky. Add in two older criminals seeking redemption, and the result was irresistible. At least to me.

"Common Scents"
Georgia Davis made her first major appearance in my third novel, AN IMAGE OF DEATH which was published in 2004. However, she was also the protagonist in this story, which was written and published about the same time. In this story, Georgia, an officer on the Village police force, is anxious to move up to detective.

"The Whole World Is Watching"
This story was written and published in the SISTERS ON THE CASE anthology edited by Sara Paretsky (Signet, 2007). I originally wrote this as an exercise in preparation for a thriller that takes place - in part - during the 1960's. I hope that, like a delicious hors d'oeuvre, it whets readers' appetites by capturing the passion, the hope, and the fury of that era.

Be sure to look for the three other Hellmann short story "4-packs." Each has a different Volume Number, from Volume 1 to Volume 4.

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for Libby Fischer Hellmann's Volume 2

Kindle Editions

January 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: A Taste of Noir, Volume 2: A Collection Of Four Short Stories
Author(s): Libby Fischer Hellmann
Publisher: The Red Herrings Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU