book cover of The Risk of Us

The Risk of Us

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
A poignant, dazzling debut novel about a woman who longs to be a mother and the captivating yet troubled child she and her husband take in.

What is the cost of motherhood?

When The Risk of Us opens, we meet a 40-something woman who deeply wants to become a mother. The path that opens up to her and her husband takes them through the foster care system, with the goal of adoption. And when seven-year-old Maresa - with inch-deep dimples and a voice that can beam to the moon - comes into their lives, their hearts fill with love. But her rages and troubles threaten to crack open their marriage.

Over the course of a year, as Maresa approaches the age at which children become nearly impossible to place, the couple must decide if they can be the parents this child needs and finalize the adoption - or give her up.

For fans of Jenny Offill and Rachel Cusk, The Risk of Us deftly explores the inevitable tests children bring to a marriage, the uncertainties of family life, and the ways true empathy obliterates our defenses.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"A spare, poetic, and fearless narrative that explores the question of what makes--and keeps--a family together." - Krys Lee


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Rachel Howard's The Risk of Us

Hardback Editions

April 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Risk of Us
Author(s): Rachel Howard
ISBN: 1-328-58882-3 / 978-1-328-58882-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Risk of Us
Author(s): Rachel Howard
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Risk of Us
Author(s): Rachel Howard
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Risk of Us
Author(s): Rachel Howard
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Risk of Us
Author(s): Rachel Howard
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA