book cover of A Mother\'s Heart
Added by 11 of our members

A Mother's Heart

(2020)
(The first book in the Norfolk series)
A novel by

 
 
THE BRAND NEW SAGA SERIES BY ROSIE HENDRY - meet the Women on the Home Front . . .

Norfolk, 1939


When the residents of Great Plumstead, a small and charming community in Norfolk, agree to open up their homes to evacuees from London, they're expecting to care for children. So when a train carrying expectant mothers pulls into the station, the town must scramble together to accommodate their unexpected new arrivals . . .

Pregnant Marianne was delighted to learn she'd be leaving London and heading to the scenic Norfolk countryside. Having lost her employment after falling pregnant out of wedlock, Marianne is determined to make a fresh start for herself and her unborn child. But that means pretending to her new neighbours that she is married, her husband away at war, and deep down she knows it's a lie that can only last for so long . . .

Local lady Thea opens up her beautiful home, Rookery House, to the evacuee mothers, her large abode feeling much too big and lonely for just herself. Her sister Prue does the same, but Prue's husband is less than happy about their new house guests, and she begins to fear his anger will become too hard to ignore.

The ladies of Great Plumstead, old and new, are fighting their own battles on the Home Front - but can the community come together in a time of need to protect their own?

The Mother's Day Club is the perfect wartime family saga, filled with heart-warming friendships, nostalgic community spirit and a courageous make-do-and-mend attitude. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Sheila Newberry and Elaine Everest.

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Mersey Girls
(Reckoner's Row, book 2)
Sheila Riley
thumb
Rainy Days for the Harpers Girls
(Welcome To Harpers Emporium, book 3)
Rosie Clarke

Used availability for Rosie Hendry's A Mother's Heart

Paperback Editions

May 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Mother's Day Club (Women on the Home Front)
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
ISBN: 0-7515-7570-4 / 978-0-7515-7570-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Mother's Heart
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


March 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Mother's Heart
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Mother's Heart
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Mother's Day Club (Women on the Home Front)
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU