book cover of Journeys in the Dead Season

Journeys in the Dead Season

A novel by

"...So little natural light falls into my cell, and I have such a limited view from my window, that at times I feel as though I am entombed within a coffin . . . Down here, deep within the soil, I must content myself with mental excursions only, tripping beneath the canopies of forests that exist solely in the mind . . ."

A prisoner is on remand in Durham high security jail for what turns out to be a series of attacks on young girls across Leicestershire, culminating in abduction, rape and murder.

In the autumn of 1922, Captain Crowe is on a journey across Leicestershire. He intends to visit his old comrades from the War and finish his book on horticulture.

The prisoner is reading a copy of Crowe's book, Perambulations of a Soldier: Autumn to Winter. Crowe's retelling of his odyssey in his letters, their subsequent appearance within Perambulations and the prisoner's interpretation of them, creates a macabre fusion of past and present, where fact and fiction, truth and reality begin to merge and coalesce...

Juxtaposing the experiences of a shellshock victim in the early 1920s with the recollections of an alleged child-murderer in the present day, Journeys in the Dead Season is a masterpiece of psychological complexity and subtlety. In the vein of writers such as Kazuo Ishiguro and Beryl Bainbridge, this is a novel that plays with voice, place and time to create an enthralling narrative that is both metaphysically haunting and deeply compelling.

'Journeys in the Dead Season' was a worthy finalist in the 2005 Richard & Judy Writing Competition.

Genre: General Fiction

Used availability for Spencer Jordan's Journeys in the Dead Season

Paperback Editions

September 2005 : UK Paperback

Title: Journeys in the Dead Season
Author(s): Spencer Jordan
ISBN: 0-330-44122-1 / 978-0-330-44122-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

January 2006 : UK Paperback

Title: Journeys in the Dead Season
Author(s): Spencer Jordan
ISBN: 0-330-44428-X / 978-0-330-44428-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK