book cover of Back-Slash
Added by 11 of our members

Back-Slash

(2011)
(Slash Killer)
(The fifth book in the DI Mike Nash series)
A novel by

 
 
Detective Mike Nash thought that moving back to Yorkshire from London would give him a quieter life. Little did he know . . .

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BACK-SLASH”

Don't read it on a bus, you'll miss your stop.” Scarborough Evening News

A KILLER WHO SLASHES WOMEN’S THROATS.

A FORESTER TRYING TO PUT HIS PAST BEHIND HIM.

Andrew Myers was wrongly convicted of killing his wife by slashing her throat. Finally freed, but not exonerated, he just wants a quiet life far from where the tragedy happened. He goes to work as a forester on an isolated estate in Yorkshire.

BUT THEN A KILLER WITH THE SAME TRADEMARK STARTS CLAIMING NEW VICTIMS, AND IN THE SAME AREA WHERE ANDREW HAS MOVED.

Andrew has a terrible chainsaw accident while cutting trees. He manages to staunch the bleeding while he drives himself to hospital.

His erratic control of his car attracts a policewoman, Lisa Andrews, to stop and help him. But she soon finds out there is more to him than just a hermit-like forester living in the woods.

Is he a callous murderer? Is he now taking a terrible revenge on those who wronged him? Or, does the truth lie elsewhere?

With resources decimated by a flu epidemic, Detective Mike Nash is forced to use unorthodox tactics to expose a web of corruption and deceit spanning the years.

CAN MIKE NASH STOP A SERIAL KILLER OR HAS HE GOT THE MURDERER IN HIS SIGHTS ALREADY?

A BREATH-TAKING CRIME THRILLER PERFECT FOR FANS OF IAN RANKIN, JD KIRK, DS BUTLER or PETER ROBINSON.

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT SLASH KILLER

“It will keep you gripped to your seat.” G.L.

“This has more twists and turns than the roads in the Yorkshire dales.” R.S.M.

I couldn’t put the book down. In my opinion it's the best book yet.” Una

“An absolute corker of a story.” Terry

MIKE NASH
A highly talented detective, he was a rising star in the Metropolitan Police. Following a particularly gruesome case involving a sadistic serial killer, Nash turns down the chance of promotion and heads back to his native county of Yorkshire. He hopes that returning to his roots will bring peace of mind. However, although the pace of life seems gentler, the crimes prove no less horrific. His skills are tested to the limit by a series of violent crimes that threaten to ruin his plans for a more relaxed lifestyle. Nor is his secret ambition to settle down made any easier by his one weakness, a seemingly unquenchable thirst for female company. That is, until . . . ?

LOCATION
The books are set in a fictional rural North Yorkshire with a scattering of market towns, many small villages and countryside that changes from high moorland with dramatic crags, mountain tarns and sparse vegetation, to the gentler, lush agricultural land lower down the valley that is bisected by the river Helm. The town of Helmsdale is where Mike Nash and his team are based, in a sub-division of their headquarters in the larger town of Netherdale. Further to the west is Bishopton, also part of the hub our detectives cover.

DI MIKE NASH SERIES
Book 1: WHAT LIES BENEATH
Book 2: VANISH WITHOUT TRACE
Book 3: PLAYING WITH FIRE
Book 4: KILLING CHRISTMAS
Book 5: SLASH KILLER
Book 6: ALONE WITH A KILLER
Book 7: BLOOD DIAMOND
Book 8: DEAD & GONE
Book 9: HIDE & SEEK
Book 10: RUNNING SCARED
Book 11: THE BLEEDING HEART KILLER
Book 12: CHAIN REACTION

More books coming soon, join the Joffe Books mailing list to be the first to hear about them!

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Bill Kitson's Back-Slash

Hardback Editions

October 2011 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Back-Slash (Mike Nash)
Author(s): Bill Kitson
ISBN: 0-7090-9316-0 / 978-0-7090-9316-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: SLASH KILLER an absolutely addictive crime thriller with a huge twist (DI MIKE NASH SERIES)
Author(s): BILL KITSON
ISBN: 1-78931-320-1 / 978-1-78931-320-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Joffe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Back-slash
Author(s): Bill Kitson
ISBN: 1-4448-1246-7 / 978-1-4448-1246-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: SLASH KILLER an absolutely addictive crime thriller with a huge twist (DI MIKE NASH SERIES Book 5)
Author(s): BILL KITSON
Publisher: Joffe Books crime and thrillers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU