book cover of Mark of Caine

Mark of Caine

(The second book in the Victorian Villains series)
A novel by

Laura Mayhew is the only witness to a sex scandal at Windsor Castle and is committed to Gateshead Insane Asylum to discredit her story. Tanner Caine, a cold, solitary and emotionally damaged ex-naval officer is tasked with silencing the girl permanently. Laura has the gift of second sight and she has been expecting an assassin for months but Tanner insists he's only there to help. Haunted in her dreams by a baby's cries, Laura decides to trust the dangerous Mr. Caine to escape the asylum and find the missing royal infant. When she is compelled into marriage to obtain her release, Laura discovers Tanner Caine is the one man whose thoughts she cannot read. And it is possible she has married her assassin.

Mark of Caine is the second novel in Catherine Lloyd's Victorian Villains Saga. Four villainous men, cursed by their fathers, follow their legacy of greed, murder, lust and pride. Set in 1867 England, the saga is written in the classic gothic romance tradition of Victoria Holt and Phyllis A. Whitney. Originally published as a novella trilogy ("Hidden in the Shadows" "Whispers in the Fog" "Revealed in the Mist") Mark of Caine contains scenes, language and themes written for a mature audience.

Genre: Historical Romance

Used availability for Catherine Lloyd's Mark of Caine

Paperback Editions

July 2016 : Canada Paperback

Title: Mark of Caine
Author(s): Catherine Lloyd
ISBN: 1-988003-30-X / 978-1-988003-30-6 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Writewood Creations
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

August 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Mark of Caine: Gothic Victorian Romance (Victorian Villains Saga Book 2)
Author(s): Constance Kent
Publisher: Writewood Creations Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU