book cover of John Lanchester 3 Books Collection Set

John Lanchester 3 Books Collection Set

Capital / Mr Phillips / Fragrant Harbour)
An omnibus of novels by

John Lanchester 3 Books Collection Set. Titles in the set are Capital, Mr Phillips, Fragrant Harbour. Capital about The residents of Pepys Road, London - a banker and his shopaholic wife, an elderly woman dying of a brain tumour, the Pakistani family who run the local shop, the young football star from Senegal and his minder - all receive anonymous postcards with a simple message: We Want What You Have. Who is behind it? What do they want? As the mystery of the postcards deepens, the world around Pepys Road is turned upside down by the financial crash and all of its residents' lives change beyond recognition over the course of the next year. From the bestselling author of Whoops! and How to Speak Money comes a post-financial crisis, state-of-the-nation novel told with compassion, humour and unflinching truth. Mr Phillips about One warm July morning Mr Phillips climbs out of bed, leaving Mrs Phillips dozing. He prepares for his commute into the city - but this is no ordinary Wednesday. It is a day on which Mr Phillips will chat with a pornographer, stalk a tv mini-celebrity, have lunch with an aspiring record mogul, and get caught up in a bank robbery. It is, as Mr Phillips comes to realise, the first day of the rest of his life - whether he wants it to be or not. All this is both better and worse than being at work. So why is Mr Phillips, a cautious middle-aged accountant, not behind his desk calculating the financial consequences of redundancies or recommending the savings to be made from more responsible use of yellow sticky note pads? Fragrant Harbour is the story of four people whose intertwined lives span Asia's last seventy years. Tom Stewart leaves England to seek his fortune, and finds it in running Hong Kong's best hotel. Sister Maria is a beautiful and uncompromising Chinese nun whom Stewart meets on the boat. Dawn Stone is an English journalist who becomes the public face of money and power and big business.

Used availability for John Lanchester's John Lanchester 3 Books Collection Set

Paperback Editions

2017 : Paperback

Title: John Lanchester 3 Books Collection Set (Capital, Mr Phillips, Fragrant Harbour)
Author(s): John Lanchester
ISBN: 8729200768 / 978-8729200765
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK