book cover of The Name of Valour

The Name of Valour

(The first book in the Jungle War series)
A novel by


The endless jungle. A relentless foe. No way out. From the bestselling author of the Kemp archery novels.

World War II, Malaya, 1942: Charlie Torrance, a private in the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders, is plunged into the maelstrom of war after a blitzkrieg Japanese invasion. Suddenly, a sweltering but otherwise uneventful posting in the Malayan jungle becomes a living nightmare.

But when his group stumbles upon some mysterious documents, their plight takes a turn for the worse. Torrance is pursued remorselessly by the indomitable Captain Mitsumoto, who will stop at nothing to retrieve the papers.

As the British Empire crumbles amidst the mosquitos, rubber plantations and whip cracking bullets, even surviving will feel like victory...

A stunning, brutal, blood-soaked military thriller, The Name of Valour is an electrifying tale, perfect for fans of Jack Higgins, Mark Sullivan, and Alistair MacLean.

Praise for Jonathan Lunn

'Full-blooded action. Simply superb' Northern Echo

'A rollicking tale with plenty of punches.' Lancashire Evening Post

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

The Bright Blue Sky
(RAF trilogy, book 1)
Max Hennessy
The Challenging Heights
(RAF trilogy, book 2)
Max Hennessy
Once More the Hawks
(RAF trilogy, book 3)
Max Hennessy
The Dangerous Years
(Kelly Maguire, book 2)
Max Hennessy

Used availability for Jonathan Lunn's The Name of Valour

Kindle Editions

February 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Name of Valour: A completely gripping WW2 adventure (Jungle War Book 1)
Author(s): Jonathan Lunn
Publisher: Canelo Action
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU