book cover of Going Underground
Added by 12 of our members

Going Underground

(2017)
(The first book in the Jonathan Roper Investigates series)
A novel by

 
 
Fans of Sherlock Holmes and David Baldacci’s Amos Decker will love Jonathan Roper.

Sir James Taylor is a billionaire and philanthropist. He’s also a man with dark secrets. He’s vanished after stepping out of his Rolls Royce in the heart of London and Scotland Yard is in trouble.
There are no traces. No witnesses. No ransom. Nothing.
With pressure from all sides the Met must send for Jonathan Roper and Brian Hooley. What they uncover is going to make a lot of important people very unhappy.
For all his skills, Roper struggles with the regular world because his autism makes him appear arrogant. It doesn’t help that he has an unfortunate compulsion to point out people’s mistakes.
He genuinely believes he’s helping. They’re sure he’s not.
As the investigation take a series of dramatic turns, Roper and Hooley form a remarkable relationship. But it will only work so long as Hooley can withstand a daily barrage of painfully direct personal remarks. This is the backdrop for some laugh out loud moments which break the tension generated by this unputdownable crime thriller.
Going Underground is the first novel in the Jonathan Roper Investigates series. Each book can be read as a standalone story.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT GOING UNDERGROUND

"Engaging and suspenseful. I loved the characters, especially the autistic Jonathan Roper and the way his character was developed. I felt involved and as if I were in the middle of the investigation myself. I couldn't wait to buy the second book in this series and hope there will be more" nansaidh

"From Chief Inspector Hooley to Jonathan, the characters in this book are totally real and completely believable. The bad guys, the science, the special forces chaps, and everyone involved could be in your city. Great story with twists and dips completely unexpected." starjumper

"I seldom write a book review but this story was so well written and the characters so well developed that I wanted to support the author. I will be purchasing the second book in this series and look forward to more adventures with these two detectives." patcats

"JUST WOW. I'm always on the lookout for a new author who writes "old school" crime thrillers.... you know the kind I mean - great characters, well researched, good plot and a twist to keep you hooked. This author ticks ALL the boxes. Jonathan Roper is a great character, very believable to anyone who knows anyone on the autism spectrum but he's not overplayed. Loved book 1, just bought book 2." Pat

"A fast paced story, likeable characters, great plot twists and turns. Really enjoyed the addition of Jonathon Roper to the cast. Loved trying to follow his reasoning. A real page turner. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did." Verified Amazon customer.

"Excellent book. The portrayal of the autistic main character was quite good. Being autistic I thoroughly enjoyed reading a realistic expression of how we react to the world. The story was also very good and it kept your attention. Hope to read many more stories about this character." Susie

"I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story line was very good, but what really kept me engaged was the quirky, but relatable, character Jonathan Roper. Lots of humorous interactions between him and his boss. After the first few pages, I couldn't put it down. Getting ready to read the next book in the series now. Keep them coming. I love this guy." BG Lewis

"This is spectacularly good. The autistic detective is a wonderful character and the writing is very well crafted. I hope to see more of these. Great work, Michael Leese!" John

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Hypnotist
(Detective Inspector Joona Linna, book 1)
Lars Kepler
thumb
The Echo Man
(Byrne and Balzano, book 5)
Richard Montanari
thumb
You Are Next
(Karin Schaeffer, book 1)
Katia Lief

Used availability for Michael Leese's Going Underground

Paperback Editions

June 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Going Underground (Jonathan Roper investigates)
Author(s): Michael Leese
ISBN: 1-5215-1733-9 / 978-1-5215-1733-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Going Underground: Jonathan Roper Investigates Series, Book 1
Author(s): Michael Leese
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Going Underground: Jonathan Roper Investigates Series, Book 1
Author(s): Michael Leese
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Going Underground: Jonathan Roper Investigates Series, Book 1
Author(s): Michael Leese
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Going Underground: Jonathan Roper Investigates Series, Book 1
Author(s): Michael Leese
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Going Underground: British Detective (Jonathan Roper Investigates Book 1)
Author(s): Michael Leese
Publisher: Mike Leese Communications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU