book cover of Just Kill Them
Added by 5 of our members

Just Kill Them

(2019)
(The fourth book in the Jonathan Roper Investigates series)
A novel by

 
 
Fans of Sherlock Holmes and David Baldacci's Amos Decker will love Jonathan Roper.

The assault came without warning. Three terror attacks that sent shock waves through London, triggering plans to evacuate the Royal Family.
Police, politicians and the security services are left scrabbling for answers. When a previously unknown group claims responsibility the mystery deepens.
This is the dramatic back drop to the most challenging investigation yet undertaken by autistic crime solver, Jonathan Roper, and his mentor and friend, Chief Inspector Brian Hooley. The pair are the detectives Scotland Yard turns to when all else fails.
Before long they are sucked into the case and are about to discover they will face challenges that will test them to the limit.
To have any chance of success they are going to need every ounce of Hooley's policing know-how... but above all they will need Roper at his brilliant best.
His autism has given him savant like qualities that enable him to spot things others miss and make intuitive leaps before anyone else realises there are connections.
These qualities make him a superb investigator, but he lacks social skills and can be a complex man to deal with. He's already been on the brink of being thrown out of Scotland Yard because he has managed to put so many back's up.
Hooley can see past the problems to the special detective underneath but, as his father always told him, "there's no such thing as a free lunch."
The veteran DCI has to ride some intense personal observations as he helps the younger man stay on track.
It is this "special relationship" that makes the Roper series stand out. It provides unexpected warmth and genuine humour at even the darkest moments.
But this time it emerges that fate has a few nasty surprises in store for Brian Hooley. Not only does he need to support Roper, his own health will become an issue that sets the clock ticking.
The investigation also sees Hooley and Roper running a new team, unofficially dubbed the "Odd Bods" and introduces two new investigators that Roper is championing.

Just Kill Them is a dark, page turning thriller that grabs you by the throat from the beginning... don't be surprised to find yourself laughing out loud.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Unsolved
(D.S.Hunter Kerr, book 7)
Michael Fowler
thumb
The Cayo Hueso Maze
(Alex Rutledge, book 9)
Tom Corcoran
thumb
Frozen Minds
(DI Winter Meadows, book 2)
Cheryl Rees-Price
thumb
On Eden Street
(Kings Lake, book 2)
Peter Grainger

Used availability for Michael Leese's Just Kill Them

Paperback Editions

August 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Just Kill Them: British Detective
Author(s): Michael Leese
ISBN: 1-08-675213-9 / 978-1-08-675213-7
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

August 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Just Kill Them: British Detective (Jonathan Roper Investigates Book 4)
Author(s): Michael Leese
Publisher: Mike Leese Communications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU