book cover of Dead Man Running

Dead Man Running

(Book 13 in the Eric Ward series)
A novel by

Following the devastating impact of foot-and-mouth disease, hill-farmer Paddy Fenton is facing financial ruin. When a casual acquaintance offers to lease one of his outbuildings for cash, the temptation of making a little money on the side is too good to turn down. He agrees - and doesn't inquire too closely into what might be happening there. It's the worst decision Fenton has ever made. A police raid on his barn uncovers the production of 'smokies' - illegal meat manufacturing - and the farmer is accused as an accessory. The criminal underworld that Fenton has unwittingly entered stretches far beyond the local countryside.

It is down to lawyer Eric Word to rescue Fenton but it soon becomes apparent that meat manufacturing is the least of their worries. Botched operations, a divided and corrupt workforce, and a bleak landscape filled with desperate and disillusioned characters provide the backdrop for Ward's chilling journey into the dark underworld of the north, where it is not always clear who is running, or exactly whom they are running from.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

The Darkest Evening
(Vera Stanhope, book 9)
Ann Cleeves
Not Dark Yet
(DCI Banks, book 27)
Peter Robinson
Dead Guilty
(Calladine & Bayliss, book 9)
Helen H Durrant
Running Scared
(DI Mike Nash, book 10)
Bill Kitson

Used availability for Roy Lewis's Dead Man Running

Hardback Editions

June 2004 : UK Hardback

Title: Dead Man Running
Author(s): Roy Lewis
ISBN: 0-7505-2197-X / 978-0-7505-2197-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

December 2003 : UK Hardback

Title: Dead Man Running (Eric Ward Mystery) (Eric Ward Mystery S.)
Author(s): Roy Lewis
ISBN: 0-7490-0677-3 / 978-0-7490-0677-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Allison & Busby
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Audio Editions

August 2004 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: Dead Man Running
Author(s): Roy Lewis
ISBN: 1-85903-745-3 / 978-1-85903-745-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Story Sound
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA