book cover of A Question of Degree
Added by 3 of our members

A Question of Degree

(1974)
(Murder in the Mine)
(The fifth book in the Inspector John Crow series)
A novel by

 
 
Looking for a classic murder mystery from an acclaimed crime writer?

Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing. Full of twists and turns, this will have you gripped from start to finish.

THIS BOOK WAS ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED AS “A QUESTION OF DEGREE.”

“Roy Lewis can always be counted on for precise, original, interesting environment…yet his characters and settings always interact.” Financial Times

“A must read for all crime lovers.” Greta

“Very intriguing, captivating and truly entertaining.” Cherry-Ann

A HUNT FOR A MISSING DOG LEADS TO A GRUESOME DISCOVERY DOWN A MINESHAFT.

Not just the injured dog, but a valuable piece of jewellery . . . and the decaying corpse of a woman.

Detective John Crow is called in to run the investigation in this South Wales mining community. He discovers flaws in the dog owner’s account and a visit to the north east of England reveals the dead woman’s identity.

Then there is a surprise confession. But the skeletal Inspector Crow is not convinced, and he pursues the investigation into the dead woman’s complicated life. New suspects emerge.

BUT AS CROW CLOSES IN ON THE KILLER, COMPLICATED QUESTIONS REMAIN. Full of intrigue, this mystery will have the reader guessing until the very end.

Set in England in the early 70s, this is the fifth book to feature Inspector John Crow. More coming soon.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.

PRAISE FOR ROY LEWIS MYSTERIES

Each Lewis seems to better the last. Here is an intriguing puzzle and likely police work and a fine picture of Northumbrian society and countryside” The Times

“Roy Lewis has demonstrated an enviable range both in geography and style…a nice neat story” The Financial Times

“Lots of cunning complications embracing conservation and financial fiddles” The Guardian

“A thorough, unpretentious and immensely solid piece of work with an interesting and likeable hero” Times Literary Supplement

“Chilly drama with some stirring cliff hanger” Sunday Telegraph

THE DETECTIVE
Skeletally-built, mild-mannered Inspector John Crow is established in the Murder Squad in London and constantly meets hostility when he is called upon to work on murder cases in regional crime squads in Wales and the Midlands. He displays strong moral feelings, and a sensitivity which brings him into conflict with regional staff as he doggedly and successfully pursues the truth in cases where he is called in.

INSPECTOR JOHN CROW BOOKS
Book 1: A LOVER TOO MANY
Book 2: ERROR OF JUDGMENT
Book 3: THE WOODS MURDER
Book 4: MURDER FOR MONEY
Book 5: MURDER IN THE MINE
Book 6: A COTSWOLDS MURDER
Book 7: A FOX HUNTING MURDER
Book 8: A DARTMOOR MURDER

ERIC WARD BOOKS
Book 1: THE SEDLEIGH HALL MURDER
Book 2: THE FARMING MURDER
Book 3: THE QUAYSIDE MURDER
Book 4: THE DIAMOND MURDER
Book 5: THE GEORDIE MURDER
Book 6: THE SHIPPING MURDER
Book 7: THE CITY OF LONDON MURDER

More books coming soon! Join the Joffe Books mailing list for updates.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Body in the Mist
(D.C.I. Craig Gillard, book 3)
Nick Louth
thumb
His Third Victim
(DI Mathew Brindle, book 1)
Helen H Durrant
thumb
Without Mercy
Leonard Jordan

Used availability for Roy Lewis's A Question of Degree

Hardback Editions

January 1900 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Question of Degree (The diamond jubilee collection)
Author(s): Roy Lewis
ISBN: 0-00-231830-X / 978-0-00-231830-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Collins Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: MURDER IN THE MINE a gripping crime mystery full of twists
Author(s): ROY LEWIS
ISBN: 1-78931-071-7 / 978-1-78931-071-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Joffe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Question of Degree
Author(s): Roy Lewis
ISBN: 1-909039-14-4 / 978-1-909039-14-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: New Generation Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Question of Degree (Dales Mystery)
Author(s): Roy Lewis
ISBN: 1-84262-674-4 / 978-1-84262-674-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Dales Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 1979 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Question of Degree (Penguin crime fiction)
Author(s): J R Lewis
ISBN: 0-14-004654-2 / 978-0-14-004654-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: MURDER IN THE MINE a gripping crime mystery full of twists (Inspector John Crow Book 5)
Author(s): ROY LEWIS
Publisher: Joffe Books crime thrillers and mysteries
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU