book cover of A Walking Shadow
Added by 4 of our members

A Walking Shadow

(2018)
(Crime in the Choir)
(The first book in the Detective Markham Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A FIERCELY ADDICTIVE CRIME THRILLER WITH BEAUTIFULLY DRAWN CHARACTERS

Discover a nail-biting new series.

Please note this book was first published as “A Walking Shadow”

Two skeletons are discovered in the grounds of St Mary's Choir School. This was not a centuries-old Christian burial. They are wearing modern-day clothes and there is evidence of foul play. Consecrated land has been sadistically violated.

Detective Inspector Gilbert Markham is a rising talent of the Bromgrove police force. He is on the trail of the murderer, when another life is brutally claimed. Who is the savage killer lurking in this innocent place?

DI Markham and his team are met with intense hostility when they step up their operation. Is this just local panic? Or are they about to stumble into a web of corruption which runs deeper than they could have ever anticipated?

DI MARKHAM FACES A RACE AGAINST TIME TO SAVE HIS GIRLFRIEND FROM BEING THE NEXT VICTIM.

What readers are saying about CRIME IN THE CHOIR

Gripped from the start!.” Curly

“A beautifully crafted book coming to a resolute finish.” Rob

“Utterly believable characters, beautifully described.” Jacqueline

Perfect for fans of P.D. James, Ruth Rendell, Anne Cleeves or Angela Marsons.

DISCOVER A BRILLIANT NEW BRITISH CRIME MYSTERY SERIES

The Detectives

DI GILBERT (‘GIL’) MARKHAM
DI Markham is a startlingly talented detective rising through the ranks of Bromgrove CID. He is distant and austere — the product of a profoundly difficult childhood — but has a natural magnetism which inspires loyalty. He clashes with his slippery boss, DCI Sidney, who prioritises the force’s public image.

DS GEORGE (‘NOAKESY’) NOAKES
DS Noakes is a slobbish, uncouth and outspoken Yorkshireman, an object of despair to his superiors. He is, however, also a man of hidden depths, with a sensitive streak and a secret flair for ballroom dancing. Markham sees through his philistinism and they form an unstoppable partnership.

DETECTIVE INSPECTOR GILBERT MARKHAM SERIES
Book 1: CRIME IN THE CHOIR
Book 2: CRIME IN THE SCHOOL
Book 3: CRIME IN THE CONVENT
Book 4: CRIME IN THE HOSPITAL
Book 5: CRIME IN THE BALLET
Book 6: CRIME IN THE GALLERY
Book 7: CRIME IN THE HEAT
Book 8: CRIME AT HOME

More books in this series coming soon. Join the Joffe Books mailing list for updates.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Greek Island Killer
(DI Jack Dawes Mystery, book 1)
Frances Lloyd
thumb
A Lover Too Many
(Inspector John Crow, book 1)
Roy Lewis
thumb
The Big Kitty
(Sunny & Shadow Mystery, book 1)
Claire Donally
thumb
Midwinter Sacrifice
(Detective Inspector Malin Fors, book 1)
Mons Kallentoft

Used availability for Catherine Moloney's A Walking Shadow

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Walking Shadow (Gilbert Markham 1)
Author(s): Catherine Moloney
ISBN: 0-7198-2742-6 / 978-0-7198-2742-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: CRIME IN THE CHOIR a fiercely addictive crime thriller (Detective Markham Mystery)
Author(s): CATHERINE MOLONEY
ISBN: 1-78931-113-6 / 978-1-78931-113-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Joffe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: CRIME IN THE CHOIR a fiercely addictive crime thriller (Detective Markham Mystery Book 1)
Author(s): CATHERINE MOLONEY
Publisher: Joffe Books crime thriller and mysteries
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU