book cover of The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman
Added by 2 of our members

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
SUNDAY TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH 'A haunting piece of fiction'

'A suspenseful and heart-wrenching thriller about ambition, obsession, and what happens when the lies we tell about ourselves become indistinguishable from the truth'Robin Wasserman, author of Girls on Fire

No one keeps more secrets. No one is better at hiding them. Full of twists and turns, with an ending you will never see coming and characters that will stay with you long after the book is finished, THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN is perfect for fans of THE ROANOKE GIRLS and THE DRY.

Eighteen-year-old Hattie Hoffman is a talented actress, loved by everyone in her Minnesotan hometown. When she's found stabbed to death on the opening night of her school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of the community.

Sheriff Del Goodman, a close friend of Hattie's dad, vows to find her killer, but the investigation yields more secrets than answers: it turns out Hattie played as many parts offstage as on. Told from three perspectives, Del's, Hattie's high school English teacher and Hattie herself, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman tells the story of the Hattie behind the masks, and what happened in that final year of her life. . .

Wonderfully evocative of its Midwestern setting and with a cast of unforgettable characters, this is a book about manipulation of relationships and identity; about the line between innocence and culpability; about the hope love offers and the tragedies that occur when it spins out of control.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Tell the Truth
(Detective Ella Marconi, book 8)
Katherine Howell

Used availability for Mindy Mejia's The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

Hardback Editions

March 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman
Author(s): Mindy Mejia
ISBN: 1-78429-576-0 / 978-1-78429-576-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman
Author(s): Mindy Mejia
ISBN: 1-78429-595-7 / 978-1-78429-595-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman
Author(s): Mindy Mejia
ISBN: 1-78429-593-0 / 978-1-78429-593-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

January 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman
Author(s): Mindy Mejia
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   


January 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman
Author(s): Mindy Mejia
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman
Author(s): Mindy Mejia
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman: Twisty, shocking psychological thriller with the best heroine you will meet this year
Author(s): Mindy Mejia
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU