book cover of Christmas Child / Christmas to Come

Christmas Child / Christmas to Come

(2019)
An omnibus of novels by

 
 
Christmas Child

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Cathy Sharp

Searching for an uplifting read with powerful Christmas nostalgia? Then look no longer! You have found Carol Rivers, Sunday Times bestselling author, writing her new Victorian Romance Series.


Christmas Day, London 1880
Snow falls … a dying Irish girl clutching her new-born baby drags herself to the sanctuary of an East End orphanage and throws herself on the mercy of the Sisters of Clemency. The nuns raise little Ettie O’Reilly as their own and provide her with the love and education she might never have had. But the lives of the nuns and orphans are soon crushed by a powerful and greedy bishop.

The heart-breaking outcome separates Ettie from her friends and family, luring her into a world of male dominance and the fickle nature of intimate relationships. In her naivety, with her faith in the goodness of human nature severely tested, she doesn’t know who to trust. And when the boy who has promised his undying love and loyalty betrays her, Ettie’s world starts to crumble.

She must finally accept the hard-hitting truth - happiness comes at a cost! Does she have the courage and wisdom to face the demons she long ago learned about from the Sisters of Clemency? Will the resolution of an undiscovered and painful secret be her making - or breaking?

’A gripping page turner' - LEAH FLEMING

'Surely one of the best saga writers of her time' – ROSIE CLARKE

'Brings the East End to life - family loyalties, warring characters and broken dreams. Superb' - ELIZABETH GILL

'Carol Rivers has captured the true spirit and resilient characters of East London' - JEAN FULLERTON

What readers are saying about Carol Rivers’ books:

5***** star Amazon reviews


Beautiful, page by page …

Carol Rivers is a new author to me and I will certainly be reading more of her books.
I would like to extend my thanks to her for a terrific read.

I love nothing more than to curl up with a nice cup of hot chocolate and a book by my favourite author.
Keep up the good work Carol.

One amazing author - Carol Rivers is number 1 xxxxx

I just started reading this book last night, can't wait to go to bed to read more.


Christmas to Come

Previously titled under BELLA OF BOW STREET.

1941 AND THE BLITZ IS SLOWLY DEMOLISHING THE EAST END OF LONDON.

Fatalities mount daily from the bombings. FamilIes are torn apart and evacuation seems the only answer for the capital’s besieged East End. Those who remain behind are the most vulnerable to the Luftwaffe’s nightly assaults. Amongst these are street kids Bella Doyle and her younger brother, Terry. Forced to scavenge for food on the bombed sites, surviving on what they can find in the debris. The fear of returning to the abuse they receive in the derelict cottage they once called home, is as nightmarishly real as the devastation of the high explosive bombs that have already destroyed one third of London.

Bella knows that if they take shelter in the cottage, Terry’s life is at risk. She would give her own to save him from the attention of their drunkard mother’s boyfriend, but either way, it’s the German metal rain that will devour them or Jack Router’s brutal abuse.

There is only one way out as far as Bella is concerned; help from the young gangster Micky Bryant, who befriends street kids to work for his black market enterprise. Micky, at least, can offer an alternative to their miserable existence. But what price will Bella have to pay for their safety in these most uncertain and treacherous of times?

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Carol Rivers's Christmas Child / Christmas to Come

Kindle Editions

October 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Christmas Child / Christmas to Come: The Christmas Box Set
Author(s): Carol Rivers
Publisher: Carol Rivers Publications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU